My Go-To Meal at Xing Long Cooked Food

There's a nice mixed vegetable rice food stall in Marine Parade that I always visit whenever I pass by that area. The name of the stall is Xing Long Cooked Food!

16D7F178-8BBC-47EC-9BC0-9D1221A90ADF.jpeg

Although the stall is not as big as others offering the same cuisine, it's amazing that they have a good variety of dishes available on a regular basis. They also have a wide range of seafood dishes that I'm very fond of. For today's lunch, I ordered a combination of deep-fried fish fillet, tau kee, and sautéed cabbage.

2E1CCC60-FD8F-4E0C-A77F-7A1D914C0DF2.jpeg

Sautéed vegetables will always be on my plate whenever I order from this kind of stall.

F3C763A9-34A3-47AF-9562-54150E55B123.jpeg

I think they make the best sautéed vegetables because of the right cooking temperature and flavorful seasoning. This particular dish is one I often choose because of the wood ear mushroom and bee hoon (clear noodles) they add to it. I think it adds extra pleasure when it comes to the textural experience. The wood ear mushroom has an interesting crunch to it, while the bee hoon has an interesting chewiness that I like.

Similarly, I also often go for the tau kee!

68DFF151-5FCC-430C-B997-6A1F0EA3E06E.jpeg

It's actually the skin of the bean curd. When they make tofu, there's a thin layer that forms on top of it which they skim and turn into this appetizing sheet of tofu. The good thing about it is that it soaks in all the flavor and taste of the other ingredients, resulting in an amazing texture and taste!

The new item I ordered for this lunch was the deep-fried fish.

A76D71EC-6F29-4FB5-99CB-E7B6EC10D37B.jpeg

It kind of looks like "fish and chips," but it's totally different, for sure. It made this plate extra nice, especially considering I only paid $4.80 for this bountiful meal. I enjoyed every bit of it, and I will be coming back soon to try the other seafood dishes.

6488C0F7-0596-416F-B95C-C45FB163F273.jpeg


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center