1997 - Random Movies include Men In Black

Star Wars: The Special Edition premiered in theaters from January to March, one film per month. Tim Allen takes a boy from jungle to jungle. The adults accidentally shrink themselves. There are snakes but not on planes and Jennifer Lopez. The dinosaurs are back in the Jurassic Park sequel. I found the Batman movie to be a fun one. Only thing cooler than Batman might be Spawn. I was excited about Spawn. In my mind, Spawn was Batman 2.0. Another cool movie was The Fifth Element as it was a futuristic science fiction action film. The Postman is motivational.


Random Movies

1990s | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999


I've included some of my favorite movies from 1997. Oh, that reminds me, there was a big ship which fell into the ocean. It was the Titanic. Never let go. Oh, another Mortal Kombat fighting movie. That was fun to watch. I'm not going to mention Black Cinderella because I didn't know about it until 2002. Liar Liar was a funny movie. I know what you did last summer. The coolest movie from this year was Men In Black and I'm not just saying that because Will Smith looks pretty fly in black shades.




About Me

Art | Articles | Audio | Autobiography | Contact | GIFs | Hobbies | Memes | Music | Photos | Support | Videos | Websites | Etc




1997 - Random Movies

Oatmeal Daily - 2021-06-10 - Thursday | Published in June of 2021


Men In Black I - MIB 1 men-in-black-50f263d507c27.jpg


1997-07-02 - Men in Black (MIB) premiered in theaters


By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

Home | Directory | Accounts | Oatmeal Brother | Oatmeal English | Oatmeal Health | Oatmeal Joey | Topics | Timeline




1997-01-17 - Beverly Hills Ninja premiered in theaters, I saw the trailers and then saw bits and pieces of that movie later on. It's a funny Chris Farley movie featuring Chris Rock.


Star Wars IV: A New Hope - Special Edition

1997-01-31 - Star Wars IV: A New Hope - Special Edition premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters in January or February of 1997 at Cinema 7. I vaguely remembering my brother and others watching A New Hope before that on VHS. I saw the sand planet. I saw a few things. But only bits and pieces until I went and saw it in the big screen. I became hooked ever since then, I was turning 12 years old in February of 1997. I can talk all day about Star Wars, Star Trek, etc. Been a fan of science fiction all of my life. I'm still into all of that stuff.


Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back - Special Edition

1997-02-21 - Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back - Special Edition premiered in theaters


I saw at Cinema 7 in February or March of 1997, it was second Star Wars film I've ever seen, I was shocked to hear Darth Vader tell Luke Skywalker they were kind of related.


Jungle 2 Jungle

1997-03-07 - Jungle 2 Jungle premiered in theaters


If I didn't see it in theaters, then I saw later on in the 1990s or early 2000s while I was in high school at the latest. It stars Tim Allen who I knew from Home Improvement. It was funny to see him adopt a boy from the jungles and help him learn about a modern jungle called the big city of New York.


Star Wars VI: Return of the Jedi - Special Edition

1997-03-14 - Star Wars VI: Return of the Jedi - Special Edition premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7 in March of 1997, I might have seen it multiple times in the theaters, I was excited to see this movie as I was watching the trailers for it. I was shocked to find out Leia and Luke were siblings.


Liar Liar

1997-03-18 - Liar Liar premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters because I saw that Jim Carrey was in it who I knew from The Mask which was a movie I felt was demonic for the crazy cartoon mask. I also knew him from Ace Ventura Pet Detective. So, this movie is a fun ride in that he cannot lie and it was funny to see that.


Honey, We Shrunk Ourselves

1997-03-18 - Honey, We Shrunk Ourselves released direct to VHS


I don't remember exactly when I saw this on VHS but I eventually ran into it watched it and I think probably in 1990s when I saw it. Well, the movie is funny, interesting, but not as cool as the first film.

Selena

1997-03-21 - Selena premiered in theaters


But I didn't see it until like years later like in the early 2000s maybe during high school when it was on TV, I saw it as an interesting based on true story movie of a young female singer played by Jennifer Lopez who was at that time famous for that one song you know, I'm still Jenny from the block, I used to have a little and now I have a lot. What caught my attention from the movie was the scene where she was wearing a little and wanting a lot. Her father or somebody was like, "Put your damn clothes back on, don't wear your bra out in the public. Put on a shirt." She tries to explain that it was like a sports bra kind of thing or a small shirt or something. A fashion thing as she tries to put it. And that is the excuse they promote be it fashion or art or whatever. People should wear enough clothes and modesty is the best policy. Trying to take off your clothes and wear as little as possible is dangerous and a number of things. It should be common sense and such.


Turbo: A Power Rangers Movie

1997-03-28 - Turbo: A Power Rangers Movie premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters just like their first movie which premiered in theaters in 1995. This movie has some thrilling scenes which are more dramatic than certain parts found in their first movie. However, overall, the first movie was generally better in a variety of ways. But I still enjoyed the fighting match at the beginning. Sad to see Rocky fall. Because of that, they were able to replace him with a kid as the new Blue Ranger. Oddly, Billy was my favorite ranger for a few years at least before I started preferring the Tommy Oliver character who played the Green Ranger and then White Ranger and then the Red Zeo Ranger and then the Black Ranger and so on and so forth. But still, blue was a favorite color as a kid for years until I liked red and then green. So, I was happy to see the Blue Ranger. I like Rocky who was the Red Ranger and then he was the Blue Ranger. And then the kid took over as the Blue Ranger and that was interesting. They get caught in a storm on a ship. That was cool. The car Zords were different and kind of cool. The new villains were not as scary as Ivan Ooze who was the main boss in the first film. But I laughed when the lady villain called up Lord Zedd & Rita Repulsa who were sleeping on the moon in their castle. Rita gave her advice, she told her in regards to the Power Rangers, run for your life.


Anaconda

1997-04-11 - Anaconda premiered in theaters


I saw the trailers and was scared of those giant snakes called anacondas. It has the father of Angelina Jolie, Jon Voight. I'm his fan. He is in Tomb Raider, National Treasure with Nicholas Cage, and Ray Donovan. This snake movie also has Jennifer Lopez who I didn't know was a singer at that time until a few years later. Oh, Ice Cube is in it too.


Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery

1997-05-02 - Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery premiered in theaters


I didn't know about this movie until I saw it at Bill Bailey's house in 1997 at the earliest or later on, I think it was in the 1990s and it was pretty shocking and yet kind of funny. I grew to love the character played the actor who was in Wayne's World which I saw before that. The most shocking thing is the sexualization mixed with comedy in this movie.


The Fifth Element

1997-05-07 - The Fifth Element premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, it was really cool to see what may have been the first Bruce Willis film I've ever seen and I've been a fan ever since. this movie is about the future and is really cool and has some weird characters and the redhead alien girl is intriguing.


The Lost World: Jurassic Park

1997-05-23 - The Lost World: Jurassic Park premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7 and found it to be interesting as you see dinosaurs going wild and all over but perhaps this movie was not as interesting or as exciting or scary as the first Jurassic Park movie from 1993 which I also saw in theaters. But I was still a bit entertained and I was on the edge of my seat a bit.


Con Air

1997-06-06 - Con Air premiered in theaters


But I didn't see it until many years later and when I did see it, I found it to be an amazing drama starring Nicholas Cage and criminals hijack a plane he is in. So, then he has to do stuff to save the day. What a ride or dare I say what a fly since they were literally flying in a plane.


1997-06-13 - Speed 2: Cruise Control premiered in theaters


Batman & Robin

1997-06-20 - Batman & Robin premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters, I could not wait for this movie as a Batman fan and thought it was cool that they introduce Bat Girl in this movie. Mr. Freeze is a fun villain who was played by Arnold Schwarzenegger who we know from the Terminator movies.


Hercules

1997-06-27 - Hercules premiered in theaters


I think I saw it in theaters, I remember the trailers, I remember this cartoon Disney musical movie and it was fun to watch.


Face/Off

1997-06-27 - Face/Off premiered in theaters


I've only seen a few scenes of this movie years later but I do remember watching the trailers in 1997 and was really intrigued at this action film where one gets plastic surgery to look like the other guy and then goes after him and I forget which one is the good guy or the bad guys, it stars John Travolta and Nicholas Cage who are actors I like. Maybe I should watch this movie someday.


Men in Black

1997-07-02 - Men in Black (MIB) premiered in theaters


I saw it at Cinema 7 and was captivated with every second basically. The movie was mind breaking. Like, the one thing that stuck with me out of the many things was the last scene where it zooms out of the earth, our solar system, our Milky Way galaxy, and then you see all those stars inside a marble. You see aliens playing with marbles and that got me thinking about parallel universes or different things relating to all of this science fiction stuff. This was probably the first Will Smith movie I've ever seen and I've been a fan of him since watching him on Fresh Prince of Bel-Air on TV.


Contact

1997-07-11 - Contact premiered in theaters


I was intrigued by the trailers and I've seen some of the scenes from this movie later on. It got my attention as I'm curious about whether or not aliens are out there and whether or not they're trying to contact us or not. It stars Jodie Foster, Matthew McConaughey, and also Matt Woods.


George of the Jungle

1997-07-16 - George of the Jungle premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters because I like Tarzan and while George was no Tarzan, he was at least kind of funny and interesting. A silly movie with not a lot going for it. I have very little memories of it.


1997-07-25 - Air Force One starring Harrison Ford premiered in theaters.


1997-07-25 - Good Burger premiered in theaters. I've not seen it but have seen the television show on cable which this movie is based on. When we had cable, I would watch that show sometimes. It is a silly but kind of funny show.


Spawn

1997-08-01 - Spawn premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters after waiting forever to see it or perhaps some months. I saw trailers and behind the scenes footage to the making of Spawn. I was pumped up to see it because in my mind, Spawn was like a better version of Batman. Maybe not exactly Batman apart from they're both dark figures fuels by revenge. Well, I can't say Batman is always that demented. But Batman was the first super hero character I've ever seen outside of Superman and Wonder Woman and maybe a few others. And I do love Superman too. But Spawn looked like a really fancy and different type of super hero or perhaps an ancestor to the anti-hero genre of characters like Dexter Morgan of the Dexter television show which was on HBO in the 2000s. Well, Batman is at times an anti-hero as seen in Christian Bale in the Dark Knight with the Joker where you see Batman run off as police chase him. There was line that states that heroes might become the villains eventually. So, I saw Spawn and it was pretty dark but intriguing none the less. It didn't make me feel good to watch but it was intellectually stimulating to a degree. It was also new to me and I wanted to check it out.


Free Willy 3: The Rescue

1997-08-08 - Free Willy 3: The Rescue premiered in theaters


I think I saw the first film in theater but probably not the second film or this third film. I saw the trailers and thought it was interesting and cool in some ways but probably not enough to see it in theaters. Well, I was probably too busy seeing other movies and maybe was too busy or didn't have enough money to see every movie I wanted to see. I like Free Willy. I think it is fun and I kind of remember bits and pieces from all three films and especially the first one. In the second movie, the whale jumps over something to get free.


1997-08-22 - G.I. Jane premiered in theaters, I saw trailers for it and thought it was interesting but never bothered to watch it.


I Know What You Did Last Summer

1997-10-17 - I Know What You Did Last Summer premiered in theaters


I saw the trailers and eventually saw some of the scenes. It is scary and interesting and captivating. it stars Sarah Michelle Gellar who you may know from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and she was in Star Wars and on another show with Robin Williams.


Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella

1997-11-02 - Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella premiered on Disney's ABC


I first saw this around 2002 when it was on television again and I recorded parts of it in some of the home videos I was making around that time. I'm a fan of Brandy because she is beautiful, a good singer, a good dancer, I was 17 years old in 2002 and was impressed. Oh, Whoopi Goldberg is in it. I knew her from Star Trek. Jason Alexander was in it and he played George in Seinfeld. Whitney Houston was in it, I love her now but didn't know who she was at that time. It is a fun movie with dancing and singing and a good love story. An enjoyable musical. I call it Black Cinderella.


Starship Troopers

1997-11-07 - Starship Troopers premiered in theaters


I didn't see the movie until 2018-10-20 - Saturday - 12:58 AM. But back in 1997, the crazy thing is I wrote a story that was sort of similar to this movie and then I saw the trailers to this movie. I need to find a copy to that story I wrote and it involves fighting aliens and the story differs in that they blow each other's planets up and navigate through space finding new home planets. So, it wasn't exactly Star Wars and the aliens might have been spider creatures similar to what I wrote in my book or it was like ten pages or so. The movie was rated R and I was only twelve. But I did go see it in 2018 on my laptop like I said. It is a cool movie with a lot of action and a cute love story. The one star in the movie goes on to star in the Omega Code which I enjoyed.


Mortal Kombat: Annihilation

1997-11-21 - Mortal Kombat: Annihilation premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters because I loved that first film and also their video games as well. The second movie is not as good but it is interesting as far as the story goes and the different characters which I was eager to meet.


Anastasia

1997-11-21 - Anastasia premiered in theaters


If I didn't see this cartoon movie, then I at least saw the trailers and found it to be possibly the only Russian Disney Princess movie ever. Well, it was 20th Century Fox which produced the movie but never mind that as Disney went on to buy that company which means she becomes still Russian and yet now Disney too which I find funny as fake news tries to demonize Russia and yet they bought a Russian Princess Movie. Oh, you must be racist now, Disney.


Good Will Hunting

1997-12-05 - Good Will Hunting premiered in theaters


I think I saw the trailers in 1997 or later on and I've seen a few scenes later on, it stars Robin Williams and it was the first movie I've seen with Matt Damon who I'm a big fan of or at least I was a big fan of Matt before he attacked freedom as a leftist as many Hollywood actors would. But I'm not here to talk too much about the actors themselves but more the impact movies had on my life growing up. I go on to see the Dogma movie which Matt Damon is also in. I was surprised when seeing that Robin Williams can be dramatic as seen in this movie and not just comedic. I may consider watching this movie entirely someday just because Robin is in it.


1997-12-12 - Scream 2 premiered in theaters


Titanic

1997-12-19 - Titanic premiered in U.S. theaters


I saw it in theaters, it was a captivating drama with boobs, based on a true story which reminds me, there is an urban legend I heard stating that my dad's dad's dad missed boarding the Titanic because he got drunk and was off somewhere. They had to find him and my ancestors had to find another ship or boat. I would theorize that it is possible Jack won the ticket to board from my great grandpa. Well, if the Jack character is based on enough real-life data and if there is not enough evidence stating who Jack got the ticket from, I would simple hold onto the belief that it was a distant ancestor of mine who he got it from. The line that stuck with me which I would say at camp and many times through my life was what Jack said to Rose, "Never Let Go." I wrote a song about that on guitar in 2008.


Mouse Hunt

1997-12-19 - Mouse Hunt premiered in theaters


I saw it in theaters. A fun story with a cute mouse. Many adventures. In 1999, a CGI mouse stars in a live-action Stuart Little film. That was interesting in some ways but I kind of prefer Mouse Hunt in some ways.


1997-12-19 - Tomorrow Never Dies premiered in theaters, a James Bond movie


The Postman

1997-12-25 - The Postman premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but my mom saw it for her job as an auditor, she talked about it and I think I should see it. Kevin Costner plays a guy in what was the future at that time, the year of 2013 where America was destroyed. He is running around trying to survive and then he runs into something and he uses that to try to inspire America to resurrect or something.


Wag the Dog

1997-12-25 - Wag the Dog premiered in theaters


I've not seen it but my mom watched it for her work as a theater auditor. She told me about it and I find the plot to be quite relevant and especially applicable now as the bad guys stole the 2020 U.S. Election from Trump and gave it to Chinese Puppet Joe Biden.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency