Pumpkinfest preparations

Hello

In a few days it'll be Halloween, and while we have never really celebrated it (we are Finnish), this time Vera wanted to bake a pumpkin pie.

So I bought us a pumpkin.

6dtybabofx.jpg

It was quite a job hacking out the innards of the pumpkin. I bet I left plenty of good stuff in there but I was a bit concerned that I might carve through the whole outer shell.

1c587q92nb.jpg
The seeds were separated for roasting later

Leo was very patient removing the seeds. We'll have nice roasted pumpkin seeds for snacking on later.

91myim76st.jpg
Miro & Leo designing a face for a jack'o'lantern

Miro was a bit upset afterwards as we chose Leo's design for our Jack'o'Lantern. Miro's designs were a bit too hard to carve with a straight knife. I would have needed more precise tools for cutting the eyes and mouth out if we had chosen one of his designs.

7po6xqei1f.jpg
It came out quite well.

Yeah, I did almost manage to destroy the whole lantern. See the cut from his left eye to his nose. The knife I was using just slipped when I was cutting the eye, and it managed to go all the way through to the nose.

I wonder if we are going to do these next year as well. Anyhow, have a terrifying Halloween!

Oh, and btw. in this IPFS directory, you can see all the photos in full-size.

See you later!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency