Good Morning. Saturday Morning At The Farmers Market.

God I love this time of year. As I've stated in earlier posts, I'm more than a little bummed summer is over, but I really have grown to love Autumn. This is the time of year to enjoy local produce, beautiful autumn scenery, and the cooler weather is so refreshing!

This morning I woke up with the nip of Autumn in the air. The window next to my bed woke me with its cool breeze caressing me as I slept. I woke with a shiver and a chill but it felt so good. The sun was shining through the window and the cat curled up next to my chest. I decided as soon as I woke I was going for a nice ride on the motorcycle.

I decided to ride around the city a bit and see what was happening on a Saturday morning. I found several street vendors and farmer's markets throughout the city. They have an initiative to bring fresh produce to the inner city so close to every neighborhood has a farmers market now. That's pretty cool.

After riding around for a bit I decided to stop at one of my favorite markets. This is Bidwell park in the Elmwood Village (west side) of Buffalo NY. I believe this is the largest farmers market in Buffalo. It runs every Saturday morning until 1PM. I'm not sure what time it opens, I'm never up that early. This place has everything though from fresh baked breads, to wine and locally distilled alcohols, with lots of fresh produce in between.

LMAO, just realized I set the camera date to the wrong year. Oh, well. These were taken this morning, not last year! By 2023, I'll be putting 2022 on everything. 🤣

Market was packed with people Saturday morning.

Traffic was heavy and parking was hard to come by. One of the great things about having a motorcycle is I can almost always find a spot to squeeze into.

Squeezed into this parking spot.

First thing I came across was a band. They were playing all kinds of music. Jazz, and some mandolin-style stuff that sounded very renaissance era. They were really good. Each week they have different performers. Sometimes it's blues, sometimes jazz, they even had a bunch of hippies with drums and digeridoos once. You never really know what to expect.

SUNP0029.JPG

"You will eat za bugz und be hoppy". Found my first local bug eater. He was advertising the fact that he ate crickets. IDK, if this is your thing, whatever, I'm not eating the fucking bugs! It's that simple. I draw the line at Escargot! Snails are the only bugs for me. Technically, are snails' bugs?

The lines were long for most of the booths, but nobody was standing in line for gourmet crickets. I feel bad about his business model, but I don't think anybody should be eating bugs unless it's an absolute life-or-death emergency. If you enjoy bugs, good for you, I'm having a hard time with this.

This guy might eat crickets, but nobody else was.

Now here's some food I can get behind, these tomatoes looked so good, I had to bring some home!

Looking forward to some fresh tomatoes with lunch.

There was a flower shop that was so colorful and the bouquets were absolutely beautiful. This image doesn't capture the beauty and spectrum of colors at all.

Beautiful flowers.

There is a booth with the best homemade bread, rolls, and bagels. The line was just too long though. She has been there for years, I guess people finally realized how good that bread is. Next time I guess. I should have snapped a picture.

Found some gourds and eggplants. The eggplants were only $1.50 each so I had to buy one of those. I also purchased this gourd for my shrine to the goddess. Seasonal decoration. Hopefully it will last until December 1st when it will be replaced by acorns and pine cones. You can see the chunk of amber I found on my last adventure behind the pumpkin on the base of the statue.

shrine.jpg

On a side note, I love the fact that the pagan community is growing everywhere. I came across an older woman with her young family who had a triple goddess neck tattoo. I wanted to snap a picture but I didn't want to freak her out either. I love coming across proud pagans in my travels.

So that was my morning adventure. I enjoyed the farmers' market. This will probably be a weekly thing for me now. I believe this market runs until the 1st of November then it moves into the basement of a local church due to local weather conditions.

Anywho, it was a great morning! Wishing you all a wonderful weekend and happy Saturday! Bright blessing and cheers from sunny Buffalo NY!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center