Ridiculous Vegan Protein Bar - Chocolate Caramelicious

Afternoon Everyone,

I was being good yesterday and I was keeping track of my diet to make sure everything was healthy. Then snack time came and I knew I had to have something healthy. A few months ago I bought some protein snacks from The Protein Works and I knew I had to start eating these. I normally have a brownie, but this time I went for a bar. I chose the Chocolate Caramelicious Ridiculous Protein Bar.

fodvegbarcc-single-pdp2020_1.png

Ridiculous Vegan Protein Bar - Chocolate Caramelicious

”Chocolate covered protein snack bar with caramel, peanuts and cashew butter.

Our Ridiculous Vegan Protein Bar has been thoughtfully designed to balance your conscience and your cravings. It's fully plant based and purposefully palm oil free. It's also low in sugar, high in protein & high in fibre, keeping you fuller for longer in less than 200 cals a bar.*

Free from gluten, preservatives and containing zero artificial flavours and colours it also uses only natural sweeteners. Yet it’s still been crafted to deliver a 'ridiculous' multi-layered experience of a biscuit dough, nuts and caramel body, smothered in plant based chocolate & smattered with high protein crispies. It’s quite simply a vegan bar like no other."

I was really looking forward to this. The description sounded nice and the fact it was a bar and not a cookie that made my mouth water. Upon unwrapping this bar, I saw the chocolate surrounding the bar and the knobbly pieces on top. I took my first bite expecting a caramel consistency. I got no chewy caramel at all. This bar wasn’t what i was expecting. It had the texture of your average protein bar that was of a medium / firm putty. There were crunchy pieces on top (the knobbly pieces I referred to before) that were like puffed rice pieces, but I couldn’t tell you what they were. Also the flavour! I got no caramel, no peanut and no cashew flavour at all. It didn’t really taste of anything, not even the chocolate. I was very disappointed!

Not great. I usually love The Protein Works snacks. They normally have a lot of flavour and texture, but this was just horrible! Ridiculously Horrible! I have another flavour to try and I can honestly say I’m not looking forward to it. At 197 calories a bar, I would have preferred to have a few biscuits or a Protein Works Belgian Chocolate Brownie. At least they are only 121 calories and they taste really nice. These bars are expensive too. £2.99 each! I’m glad I got them in the sale at £1.99 but still. Never again.

Loaded Nuts - Salted Caramel Cookie Ocean
Loaded Nuts - Hazelnut Biscuit Crunch Abyss
Whey Protein 80 (Concentrate)
Protein Works - Choc Peanut Butter
Loaded Nuts - Brownie Deep Choc Dive
Loaded Nuts - White Choc Fudge Rapids
Loaded Nuts - Cookies 'N' Cream Plunge
Loaded Nuts - Choco Caramel Biscuit Tidal
Protein Works - Almond Super Berry Nutty
Protein Works - Belgian Chocolate Brownie
Protein Works - Millionaires Shortbread Brownie

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center