Inktober Day 13: Guarded

My #Inktober drawings so far have been a mix of things from my imagination and drawing from photos or actual objects in front of me. I think the latter is something I need to do more so that I learn how to see what real objects look like. You need to build the skills before you can unleash your imagination.

The topic today made me think of a castle, so I had a look in my photo collection. This is based on the picture below that I took a couple of years ago in Jerusalem. As it went on I realised I'd mis-judged the part on the right that should have gone higher and the left side of the tower should have been at more of an angle. It's all a learning experience. I could have done proper perspective lines on this, but I'm just drawing freehand for now. I have a book about that stuff which I really should read.

Guarded

This is the original. I went on a guided tour of this fort in the old town. A place full of history.

Source

My previous efforts:

Official #Inktober site here.

Prompts

Draw on!


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now