Inktober Day 8: Star, and new Doctor Who!

Even if you are from another planet you may know that there is a new series of Doctor Who. I had to write something about this and thought I'd combine it with #Inktober. Please excuse my slighthly skeletal Jodie Whittaker. @silviabeneforti has done a much better job. The Inktober topic was 'Star' and I thought it could be an exploding one.

Sketch

I watched Doctor Who when I was a kid starting in the John Pertwee days. I stuck with it for some years, but don't think I saw much, if any, of Sylvester McCoy. When it came back in 2005 I thought I'd give it another try and my 6 year old daughter was about ready for it. It was very different to the old show. Much faster paced and with a better budget. We've seen every episode since then. We've also been to a few exhibitions of props, a prom concert or two and visited some of the locations. You could say we're quite into it, but we haven't been to a convention or done much dressing up apart from the odd halloween party.

There was a lot of fuss about the new Doctor being a woman, why not? The Doctor is an alien who regenerates into different human-like forms, so why not a female one? The prescedent was set with the Master becoming Missy, so it was on the cards. When I watched the new episode I didn't think too much about her gender and it was barely mentioned in the show. What matters with anyone is what they do. We can't change how we are born (or regenerated), but our actions should define us. The Doctor turns up when needed and mostly defeats the baddies with quick thinking rather than fighting, although he/she does sometimes have to resort to some violence as a last resort.

The new shows are intended to not need you to know all the back story. Some of the other series have had complicated sub-plots that required you to keep track of various characters and events. I'm sure a lot of the dedicated fans like that, but this is a show for a mass audience and so may have to sacrifice a little obscurity.

Overall I was pretty happy with this episode. It introduced the new characters well and had a cool alien baddie. There was quite a lot of death, but it's never too graphic given the broadcast time. It's more about the ideas than gore. I do marvel at the imagination of the writers.

We'll definitely be watching the rest. It's a family tradition and it so happens that we're all under on roof again for a while.

Exterminate!

My previous efforts:

Official #Inktober site here.

Prompts

Draw on!


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now