Witness Update



Hive has been alive for more than three months now. Much has happened since my previous witness report and now is the time to keep you updated with a new one.

Hardfork-23 and Covid-19

What does Covid-19 do in a witness report? Well, you should know that at the same time that Steem was turned upside down by the actions of Justin Sun, I found myself infected with the coronavirus. Fortunately, the symptoms were mild, but enough to make the work generated by the Steem drama and the Hive hardfork quite exhausting for me.

Endless hours of forums, discussions, preparation, deployment, migration. It was not an easy task for me to manage so much unexpected amount of work. And I can say that the rest that I am given lately was more than necessary.

But it was worth it, especially when I see Hive's current success. And now here I am perked up to share with you the work I accomplished in the last months.

Post hostile Steem takeover and pre-Hive hardfork

On March 3, 2020, Justin Sun took control of the Steem blockchain with the help of several exchanges. It was a bomb in the crypto-sphere and the community and its legit top witnesses reacted immediately.

From that moment, in addition to all the preparatory work for the hardfork which seemed inevitable at the time, one of my favorite projects, the late Steemitboard, also required part of my attention.

Steemitboard services were temporarily suspended. Then, the team decided to create several initiatives to federate the community with the Community badge and the funny downvote challenge.

The fate of SteemitBoard has been definitively sealed by Justin Sun a few days later. Good bye SteemitBoard!

Hive is alive!

I will publish my last post on Steem a few hours before Hive will go live, already working like a bee to make everything ready for a successful switch to the new blockchain.

Quickly after the hardfork occurred, SteemSQL migrated to Hive and HiveSQL was alive too, allowing developers and analysts who rely on it to continue their work.

On March 26, I nevertheless decided to celebrate the 4th anniversary of the Hive blockchain by temporarily reactivating SteemitBoard on top of Hive to distribute their badge to all those who have been present on the blockchain for 4 years.

Moving applications to Hive and creating new ones

In the days following the hardfork, I will migrate my other applications and services, among them:

Engage

On March 31, I finished the migration of SteemReply which became Engage.
Engage is a personal or community management application that will help Hive users to manage their incoming flow of comments and mentions with a dedicated, non-distracting interface.

If you have not read it yet, I invite you to give a look at the Engage's user guide which exhaustively describes all the advantages of this application and give it a try.

I released a major update of Engage a few days ago with a bunch of new features!

Hive Recovery Services

Later in April, I will introduce the Hive Account Recovery Service to provide an alternative solution for users who sill have the @steem account as their recovery account.

Hive Keychain

I will also help @stoodkev and @quochuy to port Keychain to Hive and improve its features. Great collaboration among major witnesses.

Hive AutoClaim Services

Last but not least, mid-June, I created a new Hive AutoClaim Services that will automatically claim any available Hive and Hive-Engine token, 24 hours a day, enabling users non-tech-savvy users to make their wallet grow faster.

Gamification... Gamification!

Those who know me also know I love gamification. And Hive was missing it so much. That's why while doing all of the above-mentioned work, I also initiated a complete rewriting of the SteemitBoard project.

After 1 month of intensive work and sleepless nights, I have been proud to (re)launch HiveBuzz who was quickly followed by:

A few words about the HiveBuzz proposal

In addition to the many other projects and applications that I manage or create, HiveBuzz is a project that requires a lot of energy and resources.

I truly believe such a project is a plus to users onboarding and retention. This is why we need to strengthen the team and make it even more fun and attractive for all.

This project close to my heart won't survive and evolve without your help.
Please take the time to read and support the funding proposal!

https://peakd.com/me/proposals/109

A last word

I am fully committed to Hive and want to thank all those who have placed their trust in me by voting for me as a witness.

Thank you all for your support!


If you think my work for the Hive community is valuable, feel free to vote for me as a witness!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center