Weather the Weather

It must be 100 degrees out, as it looks like that infernal (I like that word) heat dome has made its way "back east" from the south and the Midwest where it belongs. Went to the laundry and thought I was going to pass out as someone had turned the air conditioning off ("air con" in the UK).

Speaking of the UK, I don't know how they deal with these domes since my British classmates told me that many homes don't have it. I guess they just sit there and sweat, right?

Not here. Last week I went into a retail store and the air was so cold my nipples got hard (anybody else?). The same on public transportation here, where I take a jacket with me whenever I get on the bus, even in the heat of summer, (The smart money does that).

I'll never forget these two skanks who were laughing at me last summer for carrying my jacket. When we all boarded, I had the last laugh, as these under-dressed demi-mondaines began hugging their arms in the frosty air.

That's the one good thing about living in the Mid-Atlantic states. Our summers don't usually start until July, and start to fade away with the arrival of September. It gets very humid during those hot and sticky months, and that's when I tend to hunker down and start blogging like it's 1999.

Southern Exposure

In the Navy, I'll never forget my first trip to "GITMO" in Cuba. Stepping off that ship was like walking into an open-air oven. I don't know how those of you that live in Texas, Florida, and Arizona deal with that kind of heat ALL YEAR LONG. They say its 'dry heat' in the southwest, but I've never experienced that, and it still sounds friggin HOT.

As a kid, I used to love sleeping through thunderstorms as long as they weren't right overhead. My mom would say it was God at work, but my logical mind argued that he was also working on a calm, sunny day.

My favorite time of year is October when things begin to cool down. Someone once said that I'd make a great 'Mainer' as that state is nice and cool with a beautiful coastline. But they get like 90 million feet of snow each year, so that might be a bit much.

And that "lake-effect snow" that they get in Buffalo NY, every year, they can keep that, thank you very much. It always seems better or worse somewhere else, and that's why we all appreciate what we have right here at home. After all, there's no place quite like it. :)

If you found this post informative or inspiring, please leave an upvote, comment or reblog. And if you haven't already: Join Hive!

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now