The Day After

We lost a close friend this week, and the day after his passing was one of reflection for those left behind. When someone dies, there's a hole where they used to be. Our friend had a brain tumor, but kept that info away from everyone in order to avoid "bothering" us (as if that were possible).

He had a wealth of knowledge, and it's sobering now that I'll be unable to walk over to him anymore to get his take on important and interesting subjects. This is surreal for me, as I've been lucky thus far in that aside from my grandmother, I haven't lost anyone close to me that I cared about.

We were told that he had a smooth passage into the afterlife, and that's exactly the kind of ending I'd like for myself.

In hospice care, he wouldn't allow any visitors, but I was able to get a message to him through a relative. Turns out, he'd never heard about the common reports of people who've had near-death experiences, and he was able to look forward to his transition with peace.

The whole thing about going through a tunnel or passageway, with an opening to a brilliant light at the end was all new for him. I was so glad he received that message, which provided a measure of comfort for him when facing his final walk.

I don't believe for a moment that this existence is all there is. That makes no sense to me at all. Even though he's no longer with us, we have the impact of a life well lived that he left behind. The wisdom, lesson and cherished memories live on and are passed down to enrich the lives for those to come.

Some people who have gone through that experience have reported hearing bells, a buzzer, or some other loud sound as a sign that they are approaching a boundary line that separates the living from the dead.

The voices of loved ones encouraging them to head for the light, as well as actually meeting people they knew helps to ease the mind and make the transition easy. Reports of a beautiful landscape composed of vivid colors (including several not found on Earth), delight the eyes, and worshipful sounds of singing tickle the ears.

These are the vistas I imagine him entering into, as the sufferings of this mortal body fade away as he steps into eternity. They say that the 'life after life' is even more real than what we experience now. My message is to rest in peace my friend and I'm sure he'd chuckle as I say that I'll see you, but not too soon! :)

If you found this post informative or inspiring, please leave an upvote, comment or reblog. And if you haven't already: Join Hive!

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments