Training with Malaysia’s Highest Paid Personal Trainer

pb251496.JPG

Jonathan Wong is the founder and co-owner of CrossFit Malaysia, and PushMore. He has been involved in the fitness industry for more than 10 years, with experience in personal training, group fitness, performance training and fitness education. I had the pleasure of training with him in Bali!

IMG_5927.JPG

Before I left for Bali, I was going to the gym about 3 to 4 times a week, and mainly doing weight training. I started going to gym at a weight of around 70kg and gained 10kg of muscle (and a bit of fat) within about 3 months. This involved monster eating, lots of protein shake, and very little cardio.

Jonothan is not as massive as many of the bodybuilders out there, but he is much stronger than them, and has much more endurance. I was in Bali attending a course on Internet Marketing, and each day would start at 8am and finish at 7pm, and then the workout would start. After such a long day of information overload, it almost felt impossible to do exercise, but that is the trick. You have to make your training a consistent effort. No matter where you are or what you have done, you should never skip your workout day. This was my main takeaway from the experience.

The main exercise in which Jonothan uses to gauge his overall fitness is the burpee (picture below). This full body exercise really tests both your strength and cardio endurance, which makes it the ideal fitness test. We did a lot of burpee’s in Bali… The favorite torture test was to play ACDC’s, where you do a burpee whenever they say “thunder”. Much harder than you think!

burpee-1109.jpg

After being forced to do an intense workout after each day of the seminar, it really showed me that it isn’t so bad to do exercise each and every day. We are nothing without our health and well being. That being said, I really felt good, and slept well, everyday in Bali.

My Current Situation

Currently I am:

    - Intermittent fasting for 16 hours each day.
    - Silicon Speedballing (Bulletproof coffee while fasting).
    - Trying to do more Cardio.
    - Doing 50 kettle ball swings (10kg) and 10 minutes of skipping, every morning.

I hope to get to the gym more often, but with my current work situation, it is difficult!

All the best,
Nic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center