A Cruise to Remember

Four years ago I took my youngest child on her first cruise (Royal Caribbean's Liberty of the Seas). She was still young enough that she could go to the teen group on the ship. Since she is an introvert, she didn't want to go, but I walked her there and "pushed" her inside. She made a lot of friends and I didn't see much of her while we were on the ship.

One thing she wanted to do was take the cupcake decorating class. I am not crafty at all, and I talked to the person who would be teaching the class about it. He guaranteed that mine would look close enough to the samples he had on display that I would be happy with my results. He also said if I wasn't happy with my results, he would let me take the class again, for free. So, I signed us up and paid the fees for the two of us. After all, it's not that often your 17-year-old daughter wants to do something with mom!

We took the class and I was very happy with the results for both of us. Here are samples of our end results:

The downside of this whole experience was we had to take the cupcakes with us. That was seven each! We started giving them away to fellow passengers, and even gave some to our stateroom steward (who was very excited about it, because he said he's never gotten to taste anything from that shop!

It was a great experience that I got to share with my daughter. The other participants were also fun and we laughed at each other's mistakes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now