β€οΈπŸ€•πŸ˜±πŸ™„Mommy's Mental Health: Chapter 45 - The Burnt Butt Saga Continuesβ€οΈπŸ€•πŸ˜±πŸ™„

It's been seven hours and eight or nine days...since you took my butt away 🎢🎢😭😭 (to the tune of "nothing compares 2 U")

Oh my gosh but if the last little while has taught me anything don't ever ask life if things could get worse. Oh my lord. Last week Tuesday (I think it was Tuesday?) the hot water bottle I use to help manage my sciatic nerve pain fucking betrayed be and burst all over my right hand and my butt. You can read about me sticking my butt in the bath and using the showerhead to stop the seething pain here πŸ˜­πŸ™„πŸ’”πŸ€•Mommy's Mental Health: Chapter 43 - Adding Insult to Injury πŸ˜­πŸ™„πŸ’”πŸ€• in part one of this saga.

What it looks like now. Images cropped for your safety πŸ˜‚

Anyway, so it's like a week and a half later and I'm not on medical aid so like I've been back a few times for dressing changes but "yirre vok" (colloquial for "my fuck") are they expensive: ZAR900 for the first two visits and between ZAR500 and R700 for each subsequent visit every second or third day. Anyway, I've got to the point where my incredible husband person @zakludick is now taking care of me. We bought some dressings from the ambulance/ medical center supply store that just happens to be around the corner from us and picked up what we need for the next two or three for ZAR140.00! Yay!

The pain of the actual burn has gone but I've been unable to look after my other more permanent conditions with my back and knee and good lord has this all been JUST GREAT for my mental health.

I managed to make my second book deadline a few days ago, which was also a cliffhanger because I was still waiting for the client to pay for the extra words (We went from a 30,000-word book to a 45,000-word book). But remember, I work from home because I can't stand or walk without pain, right? So WTF was I supposed to do with a burnt butt? Well, by some miracle, I got it done. And now I'm back to studying SEO.

Thank God they removed the dressing from my hand because that was SO gross and annoying. I couldn't wash my hands properly and it was making it very difficult to type or write. Apparently, even though my hand actually took most of the hot water, it is made out of steel as there was zero blistering: thanks to 20-odd years in hospitality burning myself on hot food passes, espresso machines, hot plates... the list goes on.

Needless to say, I also haven't been able to shower or bath and I was wearing the same pajamas for like a week. EEW. Right? I finally couldn't take it anymore and managed to dig myself out of the black hole of depression and had a basin bath and changed into clean fluffy pajamas and have been keeping that up like a good girl.

Last night, I got @aimeludick to wash my hair.

Oh my god

It was so lovely

And I feel slightly more human today.

I am even braving my 1st cup of coffee in two weeks. I've been avoiding caffeine because of my crippling anxiety.

Let's hope I'm on the mend and I can go back to normal soon!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center