Are You Spending Christmas Alone? We Will Get Through it Together!

img_0.7313956804249802.jpg

Christmas this year will just be me, the dog, and the cats. So, I won't be completely alone. I am grateful for so many things. I got a writing grant, and, while it's not a lot of money, it makes me feel like things are moving in the right direction.

I want to write more on Hive this year. It's not my only writing commitment, but I feel like it could really come to mean something if I let it.

These are divisive times. I am almost afraid to write because what if people don't like what I have to say? It's the blockchain. I can't take it back.

What I would really like to achieve by this time next year:

  1. Write a 50,000+ word novel.
  2. Achieve at least 500 HP (may revise goal).
  3. Write every day even if I don't post every day.
  4. Meet some new people.
  5. World domination. Haha. Joke.

I plan to keep Christmas simple. I have a tree. I will cook myself a nice meal because I think even when you dine alone, you should dine well if you have the skills and finances and physical ability and time to do it. A nice meal is rounded off with a good glass of wine, probably a Merlot or a Cabernet Sauvignon. Good for the heart and the soul.

I feel peaceful. Maybe I should feel like something or someone is missing, but I just don't. I am contented with my life as it is. Does that make me boring? A friend once told me I should be grateful to be boring in this way. Her life was and still is chaos. I love her, but I don't really understand that.

Do you have Christmas traditions you would keep going even if you were by yourself? Here are some of mine:

  1. Staying up late reading a new novel on Christmas Eve.
  2. Donating toys to Santas Anonymous and helping deliver when I can.
  3. Eating Turtles and Guylian Seashells.
  4. Brussel sprouts (I like them!).
  5. Christmas oranges.
  6. Wrapping up the dog and cats and putting them under the tree on Christmas Eve. Haha. Joke. I do not think they would approve of this activity.

If you are spending Christmas alone, don't fret. It could be so much worse. You could be forced to spend Christmas with mean people, or, worse, boring people! I will try to be more present on Hive (Christmas present) and someone is sure to be around if you're feeling sad and alone over the holidays. I am alone, but not sad. However, I have been both alone and sad. I can say this about it: it sucked. If that is your current situation, just hang in there. Easier said than done, I know, but if you just hold on, things usually improve before long.

Well, that is an update that is long overdue. Thank you for reading. I look forward to your comments!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency