I'm Back! Some insights from my digital detox

level 3.jpg

I felt it was about time for a little free flow post, once again. One of the best ways to get back into the habit of blogging, after a one week break ( more on that pause here )

Although I didn't take the entire week off from crypto, Hive and discord, I took a weekend off and spent half of the week with my twin sister, nephew, niece and ( a little less time with my always busy ) brother-in-law. I also talked with more people and felt like I was living life a little more consciously.

Here's some things I learnt:

Not checking the news for a week.

This made a huge difference.

When I finally checked the headlines again, yesterday night, I immediately felt anxiety, frustration, sadness, anger and similar difficult emotions. It's still all about deaths, infection rates, restrictions ( of freedom ) and so on. Nothing new, in fact, it feels worse than the more distant drama of pre The Thing

Not checking the news is great for your mental health. I highly recommend it to each and everyone. And no, it's not like you're sleeping under a rock when you don't. As long as you talk with people on an ( almost ) daily basis you will stay informed. There's also a big difference between being informed and being indoctrinated / brainwashed / filled with fear.

No ( more ) Twitter?

I didn't miss Twitter at all and am seriously considering if I want to keep using it. I recently returned to the platform ( after many years ) to promote my NFT dino art but it just feels forced. It still feels like a big void ( of mainly unimportant info ) as well as a place where everybody is screaming for attention. I don't want to be one of those people.

Crypto markets still stress me out.

I should not check those daily. It doesn't help that my transactions of yesterday and the day before haven't gone through yet ( LEO to ETH and BTC from Tribaldex to my Ledger wallet ) and I'm not talking about small amounts here. I trust those funds to arrive or be returned but still... it's stressful.

It was nice though to receive a message from @riverflows as well as from @pavanjr - after a couple of days away from Hive - that the Hive price had started rocketing. They joked that I should perhaps take more breaks, as it happened soon after I took some time off.

The same goes for the price of CUB. I am really happy with the decent amount of passive income, that I finally seem to be generating with crypto and CUB farming plays a huge part in that.

Hive is an important part of my life

I have so many friends on here. I can't stay away for too long. Especially @riverflows - who sent me a little voice message, photo or video via Whatsapp on an almost daily basis - touched my heart, as well as a bunch of others, who might feel left out if I don't add this sentence ( hahaha ).

It's nice to be missed :<) ( I agree with my Ego here )

I can't help but feel that my humor increased in the last 7 days.

I could go on and on but let's say that I'm happy that I'm back. Things are moving forward, with or without me but, if I can help it, I prefer to play an active part in this.

One thing I need to be careful of though is that I don't burn myself out ( over and over ) again. It's clear to me that it's all about balance - story of my life - and that too ( much or too little time spent on here ) is never a good thing.

Big hug,

Vincent aka your favorite dino


The drawing above this post shows you SuperZENsitivosaurus. I like to think that I leveled up in the last week, something I feel life is all about.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center