SONG REQUEST 50% HP Challenge Week 11! - Winner: @edwardstobia Runner-up: @yisusth


Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa!

I am into the 11th week of this challenging series of posts I have set myself for Thursdays! BUT I Need your Help to keep going please!

This is the challenge I'm setting myself every Thursday: I ask for cover song requests on the MUSIC community, and then pick a favourite song to learn and post a live video of me attempting it. The person who asked for the winning song then gets 50% of the post rewards in HP! If I pick a second song, that person gets 20% of the post rewards in HP as well!

This was a quiet week for requests, but I did get a request for a fantastic challenging song by this week's winner @edwardstobia! He asked for a fantastic bluesy song by Black Pumas called "Colors". The singer is fantastic and busts out a very soulful falsetto, which is terrifying! Haha! Be brave! Jasper!

Here is the video that he showed me, which is actually a longer live performance at Abbey Road studios:

Well done @edwardstobia - you will be getting 50% of this post's rewards in HP!

I thought I would still tackle a second song, so I went back through previous sets of comments looking for songs I wished I attempted, and I found a request by @yisusth for "Wake Me Up" by Avicii. Everybody under age 45 should be familar with this song, that has another powerful, soulful singer on it, so let me try and give it a shot!

Here is a video of the original:

So well done @yisusth - you win 20% of the post rewards in HP for a request you made many weeks ago! Does this set a precedent? Are their rules to this Initiative that I'm breaking? I don't know... I suppose I'm the one who decides?

NOW READER, perhaps next week is your turn? Please give me some suggestions of cover songs you would like me to try next week, and maybe you'll be the winner next time!

See you Next Week! Ask for a song if you've read this far!

Lyrics for "Colors" by Black Pumas

I woke up to the morning sky, first
Baby blue, just like we rehearsed
When I get up off this ground
I shake leaves back down to the brown, brown, brown, brown
'Til I'm clean
Then I walk where I'd be shaded by the trees
By a meadow of green
For about a mile
I'm headed to town, town, town, in style
With all my favorite colors, yes, sir
All my favorite colors, right on
My sisters and my brothers
See 'em like no other
All my favorite colors
It's a good day to be
A good day for me
A good day to see
My favorite colors, colors
My sisters and my brothers
They see 'em like no other
All my favorite colors
Now take me to other side
Little bitty blues bird flies
And gray clouds, or white walls, or blue skies
We gon' fly, feel alright
And we gon' (Ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh, ooh), yeah
It sound like (Ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh, ooh), yeah
The least I can say, I anticipate
A homecoming parade as we renegade
In the morning, right on
With all my favorite colors, yes, sir
All my favorite colors, yes, ma'am
My sisters and my brothers
See 'em like no other
All my favorite colors
All my favorite colors, right
All my favorite colors, yes, ma'am
My sisters and my brothers
See 'em like no other
All my favorite colors
It's a good day to be
A good day for me
A good day to see my favorite colors, colors
My sisters and my brothers
They see 'em like no other
All my favorite colors

Source: Musixmatch
Songwriters: Eric Burton
Colors lyrics © Soul Sapphires Songs

Lyrics for "Wake Me Up" by Avicii and Aloe Blacc

Feeling my way through the darkness
Guided by a beating heart
I can't tell where the journey will end
But I know where to start
They tell me I'm too young to understand
They say I'm caught up in a dream
Well life will pass me by if I don't open up my eyes
Well that's fine by me
So wake me up when it's all over
When I'm wiser and I'm older
All this time I was finding myself, and I
Didn't know I was lost
So wake me up when it's all over
When I'm wiser and I'm older
All this time I was finding myself, and I
Didn't know I was lost
I tried carrying the weight of the world
But I only have two hands
Hope I get the chance to travel the world
But I don't have any plans
Wish that I could stay forever this young
Not afraid to close my eyes
Life's a game made for everyone
And love is a prize
So wake me up when it's all over
When I'm wiser and I'm older
All this time I was finding myself, and I
Didn't know I was lost
So wake me up when it's all over
When I'm wiser and I'm older
All this time I was finding myself, and I
I didn't know I was lost
I didn't know I was lost
I didn't know I was lost
I didn't know I was lost
I didn't know

Source: LyricFind
Songwriters: Egbert Nathaniel Dawkins / Michael Aaron Einziger / Tim Bergling
Wake Me Up lyrics © CONSALAD CO., Ltd, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd., Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency