The Island Born of Fire ❤️‍🔥 Camiguin Escapade Part 1

Hi, wholesome reader!

One of the reasons I am proud to be a Filipino is because of how beautiful our country is. Being an archipelago, our nation has more than a thousand islands to discover. In this travel series, I'm going to show you around Camiguin, a very laid-back and peaceful island in Northern Mindanao.

1000054415.jpg

The Island Born of Fire

What's so fascinating about Camiguin is that it is considered the "Island Born of Fire." Sounds poetic, doesn't it? But why is it called that?

1000051131.jpg

The Philippines is situated within the Ring of Fire, where many active volcanoes are located. Surprisingly, Camiguin Island is home to not just one, not two, but seven volcanoes!

Photos taken in Camiguin's Volcano Observatory

One of these is Mount Hibok-Hibok, which I believe is the most famous one and is still active. Volcanic eruptions shaped most of the island's landscapes, including the rock formations, springs, and other natural wonders, hence, its name "The Island Born of Fire."

Where We Stayed in the Island

Coming from Initao, a municipality in Misamis Oriental, we had to travel around five hours to reach Camiguin. From Initao, we rode a van to Cagayan de Oro, then another van to Balingoan Port. Finally, we traveled by sea to Benoni Port in Camiguin.

1000051884.jpg

1000051885.jpg

Camiguin Island view from Balingoan Port

We rented a motorcycle from Janna Car and Scooter Rental Camiguin, and I highly recommend them for their brand-new units and affordable rentals. Plus, their customer service is top-tier!

The motorcycle was delivered to us at the port. From there, we headed to our accommodation: Hidden Tourist Inn, located in Brgy. Magting, Mambajao. Our accommodation was approximately 20 minutes away from the port.

1000051708.jpg

1000051707.jpg

1000051713.jpg

1000051709.jpg

The inn is right by the road, but true to its name, it's quite hidden. You won't see much from the outside, but the inside is beautiful.

1000051706.jpg

1000051712.jpg

1000051704.jpg

1000051715.jpg

1000051705.jpg

1000051714.jpg

Stepping in felt like entering a garden – a very nature-inspired place. It actually reminded me of Arrietty’s world, a Studio Ghibli movie that I love so dearly.

1000051151.jpg1000051152.jpg1000051153.jpg

I also loved the wooden interior of our room. Though there was no AC, the electric fan was enough to cool us during the night. The staff and owner were very accommodating, which is an impression I’ve gotten from all the Camiguingnons so far.

Time to wrap up my post for today! Stay tuned for my next posts, where I’ll be sharing the places we visited on the island. See you! 😊✨


Thank you for reading my post up to this point. I hope you have a great time ahead!

I'll take delight in writing for you again soon.

Love,
Sam ♡


Camiguin Escapade:
Part 1 | Part 2

All photos in this post are owned by me, unless stated otherwise.


1000051885.jpg

Hello, in case you have not read my intro post, my name is Samantha. You may call me Sam for short. I am from Cebu, a beautiful island in the Philippines. I created this space in an attempt to put all the good things in one place, thus, my blog name @wholesamdiaries.

Let's connect! I'd be glad to discover more amazing people here. Thank you once again and see you around! ♡


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now