Be Yourself. Give Your Free Will A Chance. You've Got To Want To Succeed.


Owner of a Lonely Heart Lyrics
[​Intro]​
[Verse 1]
Move yourself
You always live your life
Never thinking of the future
Prove yourself
You are the move you make
Take your chances, win or loser
See yourself
You are the steps you take
You and you, and that's the only way
Shake, shake yourself
You're every move you make
So the story goes


Redemption

2023 for me feels like a redemption year. Last year was fucking awesome compared to the previous 5-6 years. Just like how last year manifested to be amazing, my choices and ability to adapt were the main cause for the previous years of grief. I will choose to not let things that are out of my control to dictate my mental health.

With under going neurofeedback therapy, going back to school for regenerative farming (@dynamicgreentk/with-distinction, @dynamicgreentk/got-my-microscope-certification), and moving to Oregon over the past couple of years; I feel great both physically and mentally. I feel secure in most aspects in life now except for trying to find work in a small town economy that does not offer fair wages or good jobs unless you are a nurse or working for the electrical union IBEW. Weird how after three years I get a call to go back to work in Las Vegas basically being given my job back after being illegally fired and cast aside for three years despite settling my NLRB case with my union and employer.

What I Learned From It All

No matter where I go in America there will be lots of corruption, greed, and people/companies only looking out for themselves. There is no sign of anything changing. I have learned that despite my distain for my Union in Las Vegas and the majority people I once considered family that I worked with whom I no longer trust; that truly my job in Las Vegas as an on call entertainment technician ie Union Stagehand is one of the best in the country. I learned that I need to do a better job at protecting myself and the importance of keep my mouth shut. It is all just business and only as personal as I let it be.

Taking A Gamble

“Is Disney aware that Mr Depp has testified under oath that he would not take another Pirates of the Caribbean franchise role for $300m and a million alpacas?” - https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/news/johnny-depp-disney-pirates-captain-jack-sparrow-b2083386.html


https://nftshowroom.com/gallery/tygertyger_moving-pictures_1-million-alpacas?collection=true

I can remember quite a few times in the past few years of making statements similar to the one million alpaca remark where I would proclaim that I would never work for my union in Las Vegas ever again. These statements were often F bomb riddled and personal. But just a little appreciation got me back to Vegas more so than the money. Although making $35-$45 an hour helps...

So all it took was a simple text message from a labor coordinator, that was recently re-hired, to get me to forget all that was said and done in the past and change my mind about working in Las Vegas. Nothing like a text message that expresses how much I am appreciated and wanted especially in regards to work.

It took this person even going to the main HR lady of this company to re-activate me into the system... whatever that means! Than it took another week just to find out the dates I would be needed. But alas, I got the dates and booked my flight and hostel. Yup a hostel...😅 Cheapest way to stay in Vegas for two weeks.

This job is an on-call job and I might have the opportunity to work non-stop for the next two-three months or I might get fired after one day. It is a gamble.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency