Introducing OpenEDS - Open-source 3D-printed tools for disabled people

Hello readers! I hope you're well. At this time, I'm good and I work to be better everyday. For that, I need some help to do some daily tasks. I found something so cool: I can create tools for me with my 3D-printer.

But, instead to create these tools only for me, I created OpenEDS, a collection of tools to help people affected by EDS (Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, which affects me). It's not just for them because people with (poly-)arthritis, Marfan, Fibromyalgia, or just hyper-mobility can also be helped with these tools.

About OpenEDS

Set of OpenEDS tools

OpenEDS is just a small open-source initiative to create easy-to-print and easy-to-use tools. Many people need these kind of tools for an easier and less painful life but can't afford the commercials ones. Some people are in medical wavering / diagnostic delay and also need these tools.

All the OpenEDS tools was created with 4 things in mind:

  • Low-cost: Every tool must be affordable for all.
  • Open: All tools was and will be released with the CreativeCommons BY-NC 4.0 licence (Sharing with attribution and no commercial use but remix allowed)
  • Ecology: Every tool must be printed with PLA (and other vegetables-based filament)
  • Compatible: Every tool can be printed with any 3D-printed, even the lowest price, without 3D support or any difficulties

For example, I always do a printing test with my old stock Ender 3 Pro. Of course, you can download, print and use these tools bust not sell them.

Now, let me introduce you the first three tools of this collection.

1) Pop / soda can opener

My vanilla coke is really easier to open with this Soda can opener!

It's very difficult for some of us to open a soda can. The tab is small, hard to grab and fingers can dislocate just with that. That's why my first small tool was something easy to grab and use. You can also attach it to your key ring.

Put the soda tab into the pop opener and you have a small lever to open the can without force and without twist your fingers! It's also quick and easy to print.

Get the soda opener on Printables

2) RocketTool, the 3-in-1 tool

My Rocket Tool on my key ring, ready to open my door

This one is my best friend. I have some difficulties in real life:

  • Sometimes, I can't turn a key without pain
  • I can't carry a bag without cut off my hand's blood circulation
  • My fingers can dislocate when I push a "little hard to push" button (like elevator, ATM or my... micro-wave oven)

That's why I create the Rocket Tool and I always keep it with me. Very easy to print and very useful for EDS or arthritis people, this assistive tool can be attached to a key ring.

This small thing change my life. A lot of pain can be avoided with that.

Get the Rocket Tool on Printables

3) PillPuncher, my new friend

I regret something: I regret one thing: printing this tool before! Many aches and pains can be avoided with the Pill Puncher.

My hand with my medication and the PillPuncher!

  • Grab your medication pack / blister
  • Slide it between the tooth and the container
  • Push (even without strength)
  • VOILA, you have your medication!

At the first time, I create this tool a friend's father who have big fingers (and hands) pain because of severe arthritis. But I tried it and it was a revelation : EDS, HSD and hyper-mobility people need this!

Flexible but strong, small, and really easy to use, this one is a must-have!

Get the Pill Puncher on Printables

About license and selling...

I know, I know: everybody doesn't have a 3D-printer but need this kind of tools and I choose a "non-commercial" license, the CreativeCommons BY-NC 4.0. Here's why: I don't want to see my tools overpriced because of the "disability / health market".

Some world regions doesn't have health care and many people don't have the financial situation to buy expensive tools.

I think about a "commercial license" where the price can be capped (max 5$) and some other limitations (25% minimum infill for each tool, quality controlled PLA filament, ect.). If you have an idea about how to do that easily, please let me know in the comment :)

Conclusion

Many tools are not really accessible but can be made with 3D printer and that's why I created OpenEDS. I need many tools for my daily life so I'll release more and more tools for disabled people.

I already have some ideas for new tools (like ring splints, can or jar opener, ...). With this tool I have less pain (and reduced fatigue). I'll code again for my HIVE projects in few days ...

Of course, if you want to support this small project, please upvote and share this post. Also, if you have some idea about tools, feedback or questions, feel free to use the comments section.

Have a nice day :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center