This content got low rating by people.

MR CEO

https://pixabay.com/photos/coffee-book-flowers-setting-2390136/
coffee-2390136_1280.jpg

CHAPTER 3

15 years later

He got a job as a cleaner. At least it was something. He could put food on the table. Actually, his girlfriend got him this job. They wanted a cleaner at her family's company and she thought of him. It made him laugh whenever he thought of it. He never imagined himself as a cleaner. He thought he was going to be a CEO. Just like he always told his father. But he was going to make that dream come true and make his parents proud.

"Babe,why are you sitting alone?"

That was Nomzamo his girlfriend. She is always smiling when she's around him. They've been together for about a year. Somehow he wishes she could just stop trying so hard and just be herself. She always tries to be understanding of his situation at home but he knows when someone is pretending. Even this job,he knows she spoke to her mother about it. It was actually out of pity.

Njabulo:I'm waiting for my transport. Oh,he is here.
Nomzamo:you could have told me. I would have driven you home.
Njabulo:I don't want you to be in places you don't want to be at. I know you don't feel comfortable in my shack.
Nomzamo:babe,you have a house. A big one. You have the papers to prove that it's yours but you stay in a shack.
Njabulo:where would my aunt go if I kicked her out?
Nomzamo:stop being so nice! Where will we stay when we get married?
Njabulo:my transport is here. I love you. I will see you tomorrow.

He pecked her lips and walked to the taxi leaving her frustrated. He got inside the taxi and greeted.

Njabulo:dumela malome George.
George:when are you going to end this relationship?
Njabulo:I actually love her. I just hate that she undermines people. She doesn't understand why I stay in a shack while I have a house.
George:I don't understand too. That woman made your childhood hard but you are still good to her. Get your house back.

George is the neighbour that was always there for him when he was growing up. The one who one was in jail.

He shook his head and drove to Hatfield. He drove people from Hatfield to Town and sometimes Menlyn mall. And Njabulo worked that side. When they got to Hatfield George parked not far from the UP Hatfield campus. Njabulo got out and called for people who were going to town. He always does that. He likes helping his uncle. He doesn't mind that he does it for free.

The taxi was almost full when some student walked by. He looked at her smiling. As she was about to pass he held her hand. She smiled back. Perhaps she was just being friendly.

Njabulo:aren't you going to town?
Her:no. I'm going to Centurion. I'm going to get something to drink at the garage then request for bolt.
Njabulo:get in here. This taxi is also going to Centurion. I will get you something to drink. What do you want?
Her:sprite and chips. Here's the money.
Njabulo:I'll be back right now.

He didn't wait for the money. He crossed the road and ran to the garage and got her what she wanted. When he got back he sat next to her. He gave her her things. George laughed and drove off.

After dropping all the passengers at town they drove her to Centurion.

Njabulo:so you travel everyday?
Her:no. I only go to Centurion on Fridays then come back on sunday. I stay at res. At studios.
Njabulo:nice.

He stared at her as she spoke. For some reason he felt like he could listen to her speak all day. Her voice was nice. It was surely going to remain in his head. After dropping her off they drove back to town.

George:I'm sure you will be thinking of her all weekend. Don't forget that you are in a relationship.
Njabulo:I love Nomzamo and I'm not going to cheat on her. Especially not with that girl.
George:what do you mean?
Njabulo:she deserves better. Not me using her to cheat on my girlfriend. I've never cheated and I'm not going to start now.

George stared at him then focussed on the road.

.........

The following day he woke up to a call from his girlfriend. He sighed and took a bath. Were relationships so tiring? Why did they have to go on a date every free weekend they had? He was even starting to get tired. He never had time for himself and his friends. Now it was all about his woman. If this is love then it comes with a lot.

When he was ready to leave he sent her a text. This time he was going to meet the family. He has never met them. He works for them but never met them. Strange. When she arrived he forced a smile. He locked his shack and they walked to his car.

Njabulo:Good morning babe.
Nomzamo:morning. Are you ready?
Njabulo:it's now or never. What kind of people are your parents?
Nomzamo:they are just like any parent. But they will welcome you.
Njabulo:thank you for the grocery.
Nomzamo:it's nothing babe.

He sighed and closed his eyes. The face of the girl from the previous day came. Her smile,it didn't seem like it was going to be easy to forget it. He didn't even ask for her name. He couldn't wait for Sunday to come so he could go and look for her. He knew where she stays. So it was going to be easy. Actually, if he went there on sunday evening he might be lucky and see her.

He didn't feel their drive. He only opened his eyes when they had arrived. Nomzamo parked and they walked to the house. Her parents were already waiting and the table was already set.

Nomzamo:good morning mom and dad. We are here.
Mom:finally! We've been waiting. Welcome to our home Njabulo.
Njabulo:thank you ma.
Dad:so how are you going to take care of our daughter with a cleaner's salary? At your age you have nothing. You haven't figured your life out.
Njabulo:babe, thank you for inviting me. But I have to leave. Also,I quit. I will no longer be coming to work. Don't stress. I will get bolt.

He got up and left frustrated.

Nomzamo:is this how you are going to treat him when we are married?
Dad:married?
Nomzamo:yes. We've been talking about marriage.
Mom:I hope he finds a job soon. Who will take care of his child since he decided to impregnate you before marrying you?

She got up and ran outside. When she got to the road his bolt was just leaving.

The driver dropped him off at Hatfield and he went to studios. He waited by the gate hoping to see the girl from yesterday. He waited until he gave up. He ended up leaving without seeing her.

When he got home he went to see George.

Njabulo:are they hiring at your job?
George:bring your papers and I will try to get you something. What happened at your workplace?
Njabulo:I quit. Nomzamo's parents made me angry. They treated me like nothing. I got out of that house and left. I was frustrated.
George:shouldn't you be ending things?
Njabulo:no. Not before I've found that girl. You know, something is just pushing me to her.
George:I think you love her. I'd advice you to not fool the poor girl. You have to decide what you want. It's either her or Nomzamo.
Njabuli:do you think my relationship with Nomzamo will work?
George:if you want it to. Forget about that girl.
Njabulo:I can't get her out of my mind. I don't know how to.
George:or you just don't want to. Like you said,she doesn't deserve you using her to cheat on your girlfriend.

He released a long sigh.

***********

The following day he woke up very early and took a bath. He got dressed into tracksuits and left. He was going to camp at her residence until she arrived. He would not leave. When he got there he stood by the gate and just concentrated on his phone. Whenever he would see a car stop he would look thinking it's her.

His phone rang. He released a sigh. He wasn't expecting Nomzamo's call. He was still angry. He didn't like the way her father spoke to him. He cut the call. She called again and this time he picked.

Njabulo:hello??
Nomzamo:baby come on. I've been trying to get hold of you. Why are you ignoring my calls? What did I do?
Njabulo:I don't think this relationship will go anywhere. Your father thinks I'm nothing. Does he even know that I have a degree? Just because I'm a cleaner it doesn't mean that he should talk to me anyhow. Cleaners are people too.
Nomzamo:how come I don't know that you have a degree? Agg! I didn't call about that. There's something important I need to talk to you about.
Njabulo:what is it?
Nomzamo:can I come? Please.
Njabulo:I'm not at home right now.
Nomzamo:just send me your location. I will come there.

She cut the call before he could answer her. As he turned he saw her getting out of a car. He smiled and walked there. She smiled when she saw him.

Njabulo:we meet again.
Her:I know you came here to look for me. I bet you've been here for a while.
Njabulo:you got me. So how are you? How was home?
Her:it was good. What's your name?
Njabulo:Njabulo. Njabulo Khumalo.
Her:it's a nice name. Madison.

She extended her hand to him. He pulled her for a hug.

Njabulo:now I know who you are. Can I have your number please? I won't give you mine because I know you won't call.

He released her and smiled. She gave him her number.

Madison:it was nice seeing you. I have to go now.
Njabulo:I hope I will see you again.

She shrugged her shoulders. He waved at her. He was definitely going to come back on Friday just to see her before she leaves. His phone rang again. He had even forgotten that Nomzamo was waiting for his location. He cut the call and sent the location.

Continues
Stay on my profile follow me for more stories

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center