Mathias, The Dancer

WR

Mathias, The Dancer

Mathias was a creative being from a very poor home. It was so tough for his family to feed him. Things were so tight and hard for them to the extent of eating single square meals. Mathias's dad had been the hardworking type and the type who does want to see his family suffer. He had tried by all means to raise his family but all his efforts were proved abortive.

Mathias does not want to see his family starve or suffer and so decided to bring out his method of creativity. He went out to see if his creative mind would bring him from the era of poverty. After much thought, he met with a guy as a dancer. Who also has the same kind of creative mind.

He can dance to any kind of music. He has the spirit of creativity. He can also sing but lacks the ability to write. Since Mathias does not attend any school, he could not learn how to read and write. The only thing he could do was to write his name. Spelling his name was not a problem but attending to other issues was his biggest concern.

To remove his family from the realm of poverty, he decided to join the street dancing competition which was introduced to him by the guy who was a street dancer. All the dancers were streamlined to a certain number. To qualify, the person must have the ability to read and write. He was able to beat everyone in the arena and was singled out of all the best dancers ever seen.

Mathias must meet up with the target to be qualified in the group. He was new to the group but best of all those he met.

The street dancing competition is three months from now and Mathias has been waiting for that day even though he cannot read and write. Three months was not enough to learn how to read and he was down again thinking and waiting for a miracle to happen.

The head of the dancing club was a simple man who doesn't take nonsense. He must not miss the chance and so decided to meet the head of the dancing club to seek some inquiry and some help.

Good day Boss!!! Mathias greeted.
Mr. AY was so happy to see Mathias and asked him :

What brings you here by this time of the day? I hope all is well. Anyways, you are a great dancer and I want to know if you can also sing.

To be sincere with you Sir, I have the talent for both dancing and singing. There is no song I cannot sing to and cannot dance to. I have just one problem. I don't know how to go about it or how I can make it possible. I'm from a chronically poor family living in abject poverty. My family could not afford a three-square meal. We eat what we have and what my parents provide us with. I have one of my uncles who has money but rejects my family. He never wants to help any of my siblings. I have tried to make things right and well with my family but all effort I have put in place was assumed abortive.

His boss, Mr. AY responded:

Some relatives are so wicked and are not ready to help even when you are in pain or at the point of death. Please, continue with what you were saying.

Mathias continued, what I'm saying in essence is that I have a problem that I cannot hide from you. I'm illiterate and read and write. I have tried all means to learn but do not have the resources. Just yesterday I got to know that without being able to read and write, I would not make the list even though I'm the best among others.

His boss responded,

You are right. This was the law but now anymore. The world is changing and we have so many illiterates put there who were one way or the other deprived of going to school. This was the factor they considered and then put up the new law. I don't think my students are aware of this. So, feel free. You have what it takes to go to the street dancing competition.

Mathias said while in a mood of happiness, thanks a lot. I'm the happiest being on earth. It was the d'day and Mathias got ready since he had emerged from the local level.

When he got there, so many dancers had the talents and the call just like him. He later emerged winner amongst others. This got him to the final stage. Went through and came out to be victorious. All his teammates were so happy about his win. The price for the competition was a huge one. He won $250,000 and a prize from the top singers in his country.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center