Leo Finance Introduction: @jfuji

Though I did write an introduction post way back when I joined Hive, it was pretty short and I didn’t really know if I would be sticking around. Over a year later, it’s safe to say I’ve made a pretty strong habit out of Hive! I’m grateful for all the work Leo Finance has done to champion Hive technology and adoption, so a (re)introduction to this particular subcommunity feels particularly appropriate.

So:
 

Hi! I’m @jfuji

My Hive profile pic is maybe 3 years old, so above is a shot from only about a year ago, right around when I joined Hive (and pretty close to when Scholar & Scribe announced its tokens).
 

🥜 Me in a nutshell:

  • I’ve been writing all my life, both professionally and personally
  • I am Canadian 🍁
  • Went to school for psychology and business, ended up in marketing
  • I do freelance work right now, but I’ve been in agencies and the client-side throughout my career
  • My main hobby besides writing is playing board games or strategy games (I love game design and have dabbled in that before)
     

💰 Me and finance

In business school, my best grades were in finance. But I went into marketing instead—a case of following my heart instead of my head. I have no regrets here. Tons of amazing experiences and a jazzy career experience (in exchange for a somewhat smaller bank account 😉).

Still, the language of math and systems surrounding economics, value-flow, and investment mindsets have never really left my life. This stuff is increasingly important in my field (e.g. identifying marketing ROI), and I’ve always self-directed the majority of my personal investments. Math and finance tie neatly into many aspects of game design too!
 

🦁 My contribution to Leo Finance

I think my skill sets can empower Leo Finance in a few ways:

  • Content and/or marketing expertise as LF makes moves to grow
  • Connecting LF to Web3 communities outside of Hive
  • Helping in the LF mission to demystify finance for Hiveans in general

Finance need not be a scary, math-soaked endeavor. Basic financial literacy is a fundamental skill for any human, and you don’t need to be an expert on, say, derivatives to “get it.” I think LF can use smart, simple content in the context of Web3 to help create a better educated society, suited for this era of technological hyperexpansion.
 

👨‍💻 Me and Web3

I don’t like to call this space “crypto.” For me, it’s Web3 all the way. I relate to it all better that way. This is because I started my career in Web2, just as Web2 was beginning to show signs of wider adoption. The parallels to Web3 adoption are quite similar:

  • Newfangled digital tech that most people think is too wacky or weird to try…
  • Then mass media never shuts up about it as headlines go crazy…
  • Then slowly everyday people incorporate new terms into their vocabulary…
  • Then the big brands stumble awkwardly into trying it (often with embarrassing results)...
  • Then some breakout tech/company improves access by an order of magnitude…

I feel like Hive has the potential to be the breakout tech, and I know many in this community feel the same. It’s not a guarantee, and we don’t even need to be first (there are huge first-mover risks). But we’re onto something important here. Even if Hive one day fades, we’re growing critical Web3 skills and demonstrating the insane power and innovation of a decentralized, permissionless ecosystem of digital apps and experiences.

My goals in Web3 are to stay close to the Hive revolution, but also keep tabs on what’s going on in the other big spaces, and look for signs and opportunities to create interoperability, partnerships, and chances for magical serendipity.

Oh, and I am also gonna shill the hell out of my serial-fiction experiments. I’m publishing novels on Hive ~1,000 words at a time and I have no idea where that’s gonna go, except that it is already fun and should continue bringing me and my Readers joy! Learn more about that here.
 

🐝 Me and Hive

I found Hive through a series of learning curve incidents, and also Splinterlands (shocker).

In January of 2022, the NFT mania was still frothy and I saw someone who I respected on LinkedIn talking about minting one. I had known about Bitcoin and the like for years, but never jumped in besides some 3-figure swing trading on a custodial CEX. This mention pushed me over the edge and I said, “screw it, I’ma figure this damn crypto wallet stuff out once and for all.”

So I spent a week mired in research, terrible Web3 UX, and sloppy trades. AKA the ugly learning curve. At first I settled on BSC due to its (relatively) chill fees. I went looking for a crypto game to play, Splinterlands did its thing by presenting a polished experience, and it wasn’t long after that I found out how it was Hive-based. Then came the Hive Blog (and my lackluster first introduction).

Remember how I said I liked board games? Well I posted this retelling of an epic 14 hour+ game of Twilight Imperium (I really like board games, okay?). And as luck would have it, the Tabletop community is in the @ocd curation umbrella and I woke up to something like a $50 (at the time) upvote trail. The dopamine hit was titanic and although it would be quite some time before I ever earned a nice curation again, I was hooked.

Between now and then, I’ve been on many Hive adventures, including:

jf_divider.png

So that’s my deep dive on me! Come say hi on Threads, and I’m always on Discord these days too (jfuji#0169 ~ at least until Discord does away with the numbers stuff).
 
jf_divider.png

Thanks for stopping by. Art for the Hunting Midnight banner below was built by me in Canva, using the Hunting Midnight original cover art.
 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center