Maledictus Terra Book 3: Vetitum Nemus Part 11


Greetings all

Here is your next update of your story! Don't forget to read @zakludick's update before you get stuck in mine!

mortis_custos_divider.png
“This is all good and well, but why am I here?” asked Magna.

Mary grinned wickedly and said, “You are my emissary.”

Everything in the room was so silent that a feather could have been heard falling.

Oh boy. The girl is going to lose her shit.

Bellum finally came forth and Mortis tried not to chuckle under his breath. While Magna’s face was red, he didn’t think it was anger. He could just make out that the corners of her mouth were turning up.

“You trust me with this?” asked Magna softly.

“My dear, you sadly inherited both your father and my stubbornness. We have been fighting on and off for a while and I feel that I am still trying to mother you too much when your actions have been telling me that it’s time I step back. You’ve made a lot of choices rapidly that I may not be happy with, but your actions have been commendable and it’s time that I realise that you are ready for these responsibilities without me hanging over your shoulder. You will be queen, whether of this land or one of your choosing. I’m done fighting you on trivial matters.” The queen spread her hands to show she was being honest with her only daughter.

It felt like the anger that constantly broiled within Magna was suddenly extinguished and she felt doubt creeping into her mind. Mortis felt it through their bond but didn’t step in. Magna needed to realise that she couldn’t do everything by running into the unknown as she had in the past. This was an opportunity not only to grow as a royal but also as an adult in the eyes of her mother.

“Alone?” she queried, trying to keep the tremor out of her voice.

“I’d prefer you not to!” the queen said sharply before releasing a breath and trying again, “I would strongly suggest you take a few allies with you. I have a few suggestions if you’d listen.”

That sparked the fire once more, but Magna had control and she nodded her head.

“Mortis, Gorox, Derric of course, and Adrian.”

“Mary, now hold on…” started Adiran.

Mary raised her hand and simply said, “These are suggestions, Magna will decide on who goes with her. I will not pressure her to take anyone, except for Mortis.”

“I would eventually like to rest my old bones.” Said the revenant.

“And we both know if you were done, your bones would be at rest. Yet here you are still walking and talking.”

“That’s a good point.” Said Gorox.

“What if…” started Magna.

Derric stepped in to come to stand by her side, “No, no what if. The queen of this land has given you a task, and you have three days to choose before we go to meet the greenskins.”

“I trust your judgment.” Confirmed Mary.

Magna took a deep breath and looked over to her brother. He seemed to have a wicked grin on his face, knowing exactly who she was going to choose, and he bowed his head slightly to accept the invitation.

Magna bowed to her mother and said, “I won’t disappoint you.”

“You’ve never disappointed me. I would ask that you, Noxus, and Gorox spend some time discussing the different greenskins and any niceties you may need to learn while you are there.” Mary inclined her head to the blade that seldom left Magna’s side, “Keep weapons where they can be seen. That was the only rule the greenskins asked that we uphold.”
mortis_custos_divider.png
Magna had indeed gone with the suggestions her mother had put forward and had wanted to take Noxus with her. The mage raised her silver arm and said, “I don’t do combat anymore, Princess. I am an advisor, and I am happy with the position your mother so generously offered me. May I suggest you take Vitex.”

“She’s a bit of an airhead and I worry she may cause problems.”

“These greenskins have slumbered for a long time. They will be hungry. To avoid them ravaging farmlands, perhaps you can entice them with some bounty.”

“Don’t you think revealing that we have a god with us is a little too much?”

“Who says they don’t have one themselves.” Said Gorox as he rocked back and forth on a chair while picking at something in his teeth.

“That’s a curious thing to say.” Said Noxus, as she turned to view the marauder. “What makes you say that?”

“Greenskins of this age have all sorts of god names they scream into battle. However, those who get captured talk of their gods sleeping. Why are they sleeping? How are they sleeping?” the marauder stopped for a second and looked at Magna. “Wait, did you just say you have a god?”

“It’s been a while since I sent any message to you.” Said Noxus with a blush.
“There is a god here?”

“Yes, one harvest and fertility I believe.” Said Derric.

Gorox whistled between his teeth. “Best you keep her existence a secret.”

“Why?” asked Derric.

“Because countries who are starving would do anything for a god that could provide food.” Said Mortis, the first time he had spoken.
mortis_custos_divider.png
Alright, back to you Zak!
mortis_custos_divider.png
Here is an explanation of Chain Stories and here is the current Chainstory Library

Mortis Custos

Start

Sanguifex

Start

Vetitum Nemus

by @lex-zaiyaby @zakludick
Part 1Part 2
Part 3Part 4
Part 5Part 6
Part 7Part 8
Part 9Part 10
Part 11- You’re HerePart 12 - Incoming

The Reader List
If you would like to be tagged in every episode of Mortis Custos, leave us a comment and get added in, miss nothing!
The Watchlist:
@weone, @merenludick, @clairemobey, @therneau, @blitzzzz, @pravesho, @joetunex, @captainquack22, @irisworld, @braaiboy, @sketchygamerguy, @fuego-oscuro, @felt.buzz, @dibblers.dabs, @brittandjosie, @tamacvet, @alonicus, @joetunex, @stdd, @uop, @luizeba, @cryptoniusrex, @agreste, @itzchemaya, @darthsauron, @seki1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency