Colors in the sky - Wednesday walk

I've always wanted to fly high, I've had such a fascination for paragliding and parasailing, but somehow I've never had the opportunity to do any of these things when I was younger. However, I wanted to take my son out and give him the opportunity that I had missed, nonetheless he didn't show much interest in the activity other than to watch other para gliders with a great deal of joy.

On the way we saw these fields (actually huge stretches) of chrysanthemums (these could be marigolds as well) These flowers are used in the Hindu way of worship both in homes and in temples. So these flowers are cultivated in fields at the outskirts of the city. I just took a few pictures from the window of our car as we couldn't stop to take pictures due to the crazy Bangalore city traffic.

We got to this small aviation training school which is a little further from home where the paragliding activities take place. Even though this only about a 30 minute drive from home, since it is below the elevated express way we never get the chance to stop and watch these activities. We need to go some distance through the express way before we take a U turn and comeback to this place which seems like a lot of distance to cover in this kind of traffic.

One day we decided to give our son a break from his studies and took him to this place. He didn't show much interest in paragliding, I tried to talk him into giving it a try but he just wouldn't budge LOL. I don't believe in forcing anyone to do what they don't enjoy. I always believed that my little ( not very little, just little to me) one was the more adventurous of the two, but it seems like this wasn't his kind of adventure. Nonetheless we did have loads of fun walking around in the hot morning sun and watching other para gliders take off and land.

It was a hot day but it was so much fun to watch people mostly young adults go paragliding. there was no place to hide from the sun, no tree in the vicinity. We were silly enough to go out without hats. We got a bit sun burned but all is fair in fun and adventure.

Those huge billowing, balloons of colors dotting the sky with humans hanging to them trying to fly across spaces has a certain feel of adventure to it. The wind on your face somehow magically lifts your spirits and dares you to face the elements with courage and stoicism.
I sometimes feel this way when riding a motorbike, even if I am only a pillion rider hehe.

The paragliding instructors do not accompany adults who can mange the mechanics of control. However, they always accompany younger people.

Just watching people paragliding makes me happy and light as if I am the one doing it. The spots of color in the sky is a great addition to the dull pale blue sky. Even though your head is not in the clouds you are still above the ground. It kind of lifts your energy way more than walking on terra firma I think.

After a morning of fun, walking around the ground at least a couple of kilometers or more we stopped for lunch at a restaurant and reached home later in the afternoon. This is one of those rare walks in the city that I truly enjoyed where there are no flowers or trees involved.

I appreciate you walking with me in this little adventure, hope you enjoyed the colors in the sky. Thanks for your support and as always it is amazing to be able to participate in the #wednesdaywalk challenge. Thanks @tattoodjay for the opportunity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center