Shawarma Day + Día del Shawarma [Eng+Spa]



Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen
Image generated in ideogram.ai - Imagen generada en ideogram.ai





Spanish Version Bellow



It's Tuesday, and I'm once again in disarray with my sleep/wake schedule. That leads me to have to readjust my schedule today, and it may affect me for the rest of the week. When I was younger, losing a few nights of sleep didn't bother me much, but in the last decade, losing nights of sleep really impacts me. And sleeping during the day doesn't make up for it all, my brother has reminded me that this may be due to the melatonin cycle and daylight.

Anyway, I woke up very late today, after almost dawning a short job, which I hope will bring me an extra payment next week. I'm counting on that extra income to buy a couple of small treats before the end of this month.

Well, I got a little distracted, now I'm writing while I'm racing against the clock. Let me tell you about a #food event that caught my attention today. It's that October 15th was 'Shawarma Day'.




Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen


#Shawarma (شاورما) is a Middle Eastern dish, in which cuts of meat (traditionally lamb) are prepared (on a vertical rotating rotisserie), placed inside Pita Bread (a type of flat bread), along with vegetables and dressings, and then the bread is rolled. It is a very versatile and popular street fast food.

The history of the dish dates back to the 19th century, in what was the territory of the Ottoman Empire, which is currently the territory of Turkey, and spread to other countries in the region. In the case of my continent, America, it seems that the arrival of this tasty street food was at the hands of Lebanese migrants during the 20th century.



Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen


The preparation of this dish depends on the cooking equipment, that very particular vertical rotisserie, in which cuts of meat are inserted. After being in rotating cooking, the cuts of meat are devastated with a knife, in a way that usually makes the initial pile of meat take the shape of an inverted truncated cone.

The traditional meat for its preparation was lamb, but nowadays recipes are prepared with beef, chicken, turkey, or veal. One point that is kept in several recipes is to marinate the meat from the day before cooking, and it is recommended to add lamb fat to give it a more traditional flavor.




Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen


I could not find the reason this food was celebrated on this day, but I did not care much. I like this dish and I remember having eaten it on many occasions. It is really a fast food that can be easily found in my city, in addition to being tasty, relatively cheap, and enough to satisfy hunger at lunchtime.

Look, now I feel like eating a Shawarma… I guess I'll do something tomorrow, because it's nighttime right now. It could be an excuse to go out and buy a few things and prepare something tasty to eat (personal smile). It's time to say goodbye, hoping that you are well, that you eat well, and that we meet again another time.





Versión en Inglés arriba



Estamos a martes, y nuevamente tengo un desorden con mis horarios de sueño y vigilia. Eso me lleva a tener que reajustar mi horario hoy, y puede que me afecte el resto de la semana. Cuando joven, perder algunas noches de sueño no me preocupaban mucho, pero en la última década en verdad me afecta bastante eso de perder noches de sueño. Y dormir durante el día no recupera del todo, mi hermano me ha recordado que eso se puede deber al ciclo de melatonina y a la luz diurna.

En fin, hoy he despertado muy tarde, luego de casi amanecer sacando un breve trabajo, que espero que me reporte la semana que viene un pago adicional. Cuento con ese ingreso adicional para comprar un par de pequeños antojos antes de fin de este mes.

Bueno, me distraje un poco, ahora estoy redactando mientras corro contra reloj. Déjame que te comente de una efeméride de #comida que me llamó la atención hoy, se trata de que este 15 de octubre ha sido el ‘Día del Shawarma’.




Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen


El #Shawarma (شاورما) es un platillo del Medio Oriente, en el que se preparan (en un asador giratorio vertical) cortes de carne (tradicionalmente cordero), se colocan dentro de pan de pita, junto con vegetales y aderezos, para luego enrollar el pan. Es una comida rápida callejera muy versátil y popular.

La historia del platillo parte del siglo XIX, en lo que fue el territorio del Imperio Otomano, lo que actualmente es el territorio de Turquía, y se expandió entre otros países de la región. En el caso de mi continente, América, parece que la llegada de esta sabrosa comida callejera fue de la mano de los migrantes libaneses durante el siglo XX.



Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen


La preparación de este platillo depende del equipo de cocción, ese asador vertical tan particular, en el que se insertan cortes de carne. Luego de estar en cocción giratoria, los cortes de carne se van devastando con cuchillo, de una manera que usualmente hace que la pila inicial de carne tome la forma de un cono truncado invertido.

La carne tradicional para su preparación era cordero, pero en la actualidad se preparan recetas con carne de res, carne de pollo, Pavo o ternera. Un punto que se conserva en varias recetas es marinar la carne desde el día anterior de su cocción, y se recomienda agregar grasa de cordero para darle un sabor más tradicional.




Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen


No supe hallar el motivo de que se celebrara esta comida en este día, pero no me importó mucho. Me gusta este plato y recuerdo haberlo comido en muchas ocasiones. Es realmente una comida rápida que puede ser fácil de hallar en mi ciudad, además de que resultaba sabrosa, relativamente barata, y suficiente para satisfacer el hambre en la hora de almuerzo.

Mira tú, ahora me dieron ganas de comer un Shawarma… supongo que haré algo ya mañana, porque en este momento es de noche. Bien puede ser una excusa para salir a comprar un par de cosas y prepararme algo sabroso para comer (sonrisa personal). Ya me toca despedirme, deseándote que tú estés bien, que comas bien, y que nos volvamos a leer en otra oportunidad.



Separador


This post, on the #blockchain #Hive, is in the We Are Alive Tribe community, it's part of the #IAmAliveChallenge

This challenge is an initiative of @flaxz
The 4 points to join the #IAmAliveChallenge, includes using the hashtag #alive to post to We Are Alive Tribe and earn ALIVE tokens.



Esta publicación, en la #blockchain #Hive, está en la comunidad We Are Alive Tribe, es parte del #IAmAliveChallenge

Este desafío es iniciativa de @flaxz
Los 4 puntos para unirte al #IAmAliveChallenge, incluyen el uso de la etiqueta #alive para publicar en We Are Alive Tribe y ganar tokens ALIVE.


rules

Image's Source - Fuente de la Imagen

Visit Community We Are Alive Tribe, click Here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center