My heart in an empty Coffee Cup.

I was returning home after hanging out with the boys when Rick's claim about a fortune teller who can see into my heart just by looking into my empty coffee cup crossed my mind.

I gave this light smile with the thought that he was exaggerating.

"How on earth is that even possible?", I asked myself in a loud voice forgetting that I was in a cab.

"Is everything alright sir? You have been sighing and talking to yourself for some minutes", Segun asked.

The question made me realize I have been talking to myself for a while.

I replied, "I am alright, thanks for your concern Segun".

Segun has been my cab man for a while and asking his thoughts about fortune tellers shouldn't be a problem.

"Segun, do you believe in fortune tellers?", I asked him.

"Yes sir, there are good ones", he replied.

"Have you encountered any?", I asked.

Segun smiled as he looked at me through the rearview mirror.

"Yes, I met one on the outskirt of our city about four years ago at a coffee shop and people call her, Mother Theresa. She said true things, and my future happened just as she predicted", he replied.

Mother Theresa, was the exact person Vick mentioned.

"Sorry for asking, what were things she said?".

"I was searching for a job during that time and she told me to become a cab driver", he replied.

We arrived at my place and he drove into the compound.

Segun continued, " I obeyed her, and today, I have two extra cars for this business, I have two houses and I am happily married".



Throughout the night, I thought about everything they said.

"If what these guys said is true, I better see this Mother Theresa", I said to myself as I turn off the bed lamp.



While sipping my coffee at around 6 am the next day, the thought I went to bed with crossed my mind again.

I immediately grabbed my phone and called Vick.

"Hey man, good morning", I said immediately after he picked up.

"Morning dude, you just obstructed my sleep. I was just having a dream about Elena", he replied.

We both laughed and I teased him about his crush.

"I need to see Mother Theresa", I cut in while Vick was still laughing about my joke.

"Are you serious?", Vick replied.

"Yes, you guys sounded too good about her. Just take me there today, please", I pleaded.

"Okay, we will leave by 9 am ", he replied.

We arrived at a coffee shop after an hour's drive and my heart was pounding as I stepped out of the car.

"Is this the place?", I asked.

"What's up with you, man? You sound nervous", he replied.

We went inside the coffee shop and I was surprised to see people having coffee there.

"Are you sure we are at the right place?", I asked Vick as he placed an order for two cups of coffee.

"Yes, we are", he replied.

I looked around every second as I sipped my coffee, it tasted great and soon, I was done with it.




Image was edited using Canva App

"Can we see her now?", I asked.

Vick called one of the waiters and asked if we could see Mother Theresa. The young lady said yes and went back to her duty.

"Take your cup, you are going in with that", Vick said and I took the cup.

He pointed to a small building behind the coffee shop and said, " She is there".

I left for the small building and knocked immediately I go there.

"Come in", a young female voice answered.

As I opened the curtain, I was imagining what the fortune teller would look like.

"I am asking after Mother Theresa", I said while staring at the young beautiful lady sitting in front of me.

"Come closer", she said with a smile.

I went inside further and she offered me a seat. It was a big room with ancient items and just chairs.

"Hand over the coffee cup", she stretched her hand and I gave it to her.

She looked inside the cup for about two minutes before placing it on the table.

"Young Man", she called me and I adjusted on the chair.

"Why are you scared of the future? You have come a long way in life with fear in your heart, shouldn't you do away with this fear now?", she asked.

I was about to speak but she cuts in.

"You have always doubted yourself and despite the fear, you have managed to become what you are today. You could have been more successful than you are if you didn't journey through life with this heavy load of fear".

I was speechless and just kept looking at her.

She continued, "I see all your struggles and you are destined to be great but you need to do away with fear if you want to become what I saw in your coffee cup. Everything you have been through in life has prepared you for what's ahead, just let your fears go and you won't have anything stopping you from pushing forward in life".

She stretched the coffee cup to me and as I rose to collect it, she said to me.

"You think the road you are walking on might be wrong just because of the challenges you encounter from time to time. Fear not because you are on the right path and keep doing the good I see you doing".

I took the cup and she told me goodbye. Everything she said sank into my head, she was right about the fear and doubt but many times, I just couldn't let them go easily.

I went back to the coffee shop and signaled to Vick that I was done.

We left the place and I kept pondering her words as we journeyed back home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency