Balancing yesterday's over-eating with freshly harvested goodness

IMG_20220604_163939.jpg

I felt pretty tired today and I didn't manage to really get into lino carving ( as was the case, yesterday ), even though I ordered and received a bunch of new tools, inks and so on, days ago.

So, mid afternoon, I decided to spend some time in my garden. I set up a quick improv bean climbing construction ( inspired by mon ami @samstonehill - who has become quite the gardening master, these days - check this out to see what I mean )

IMG_20220604_163951.jpg

I should probably have started this way earlier, as the plants are already pretty long and heavy but who knows, they might still like to climb.

At least I managed to harvest some good stuff, including a dozen or so beans, as depicted on the first picture, to add to my dinner.

I ate the cute tiny carrot raw, before my meal ( it tasted pretty strong, almost like a radish ). I then cut up the small leek and the beets ( I didn't peel the latter ). I even used the beat leaves ( just cut out the purple vein in the middle ). I then cooked the beans, while simultaneously cooking some pasta ( penne ). Last but not least, I added some hazelnuts and walnuts and a nectarine to the mix.

I didn't use any salt or pepper wanted the meal to be as pure as possible but I added some olive oil and a big spoonful of quality Dutch peanutbutter.

The meal tasted quite good and - more importantly - pretty fresh.

I also managed to not over-eat, something I often do.

*I blame being born 7 weeks early as one of a twin for that and especially having had to compensate for that, immediately after my birth ( I am a storyteller, after all )

Yesterday new friends - who recently arrived to my area in Portugal ( looking for a plot of land and a house ) took me out for dinner and I ate a little too much, it was worth it though. Today I needed to balance that and I feel I did.

Last but not least I decided to share the fresh green leaves on my baby orange tree. They appeared in the last week or so.

IMG_20220604_164044.jpg

I guess I am pretty happy with the little bit of goodness that I managed to add to my rental house's garden, in the last three months or so. Let's hope that I can stay here a little bit longer ( it's pretty unsure, I expect a message from the house owners soonish ) so I can keep enjoying the fruits of my labour.

Previous gardening posts:

Movin' to the country - gonna eat a lot of peaches
More baby plants...
Green dino fingers
Green dino fingers and bear feet - planting veggies and a fruit tree

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center