My Journey Through the Graphite World - Hammerhead shark.

As a child like most children of that time I went with my parents to a seaside resort where I spent most of my time underwater.

My mother forbade me to stay in the water for so long, saying that my skin was like a plucked goose, and indeed it looked like that but I got out of the water when my teeth were already chattering from the cold.

The thing is that I was bought a mask a breathing tube and fins for scuba diving very early and I could not waste time on the trifles of land life when there is so much interesting under water.

But the Black Sea is not as rich in marine flora and fauna as for example any tropical seas and coral reefs but I hoped to see something interesting and dreamed of meeting a Black Sea dogfish shark underwater but this did not happen.

My dream was also a marine aquarium, but after weighing all the pros and cons and this is a very expensive undertaking that constantly requires considerable investment I limited myself to a variety of freshwater aquariums and aquariums with slightly salty water like in mangrove thickets.

Although I did not have sharks I can dream of meeting one or draw this moment which is what I did.

In the first days of January 2023, I decided to depict a hammerhead shark that will swim in the water column and my point of view will be a little lower closer to the bottom but so that my view includes both the dark horizon of the oceanic water column and the light of the sky above.

You can see this when you rise from the depths floating to the surface you will not see this in a marine aquarium.

For an inexperienced artist like me this was not an easy task I needed to understand how it would all look and the most difficult thing was to understand how the curves of the shark's body would look which I drew from memory imagining each element of its body.

At some point it seemed to me that I did everything right but lol after a while I saw an error in the structure of the tail fin but my hand has not yet risen to change it.

In addition to the shark I wanted to show the life of the sea the bottom and its inhabitants.

I thought that drawing a sunken ship whose sides were overgrown with vegetation and mussels would be the right idea for such a case.

Later fish and an octopus will appear on the deck of the ship.

Considering that this was wandering in the dark in search of light as I already said that I had no experience of such a drawing I am generally pleased with the result even taking into account some mistakes.

But I think that I will not correct this drawing but will draw another one later but with an understanding of my past mistakes.


Zoom in on a photo for a closer view.

Links to a collection of my drawings in my posts:

  1. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Sequoia

  2. My Journey Through the Graphite World - On the edge of the world.

  3. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Dogmas about dinosaurs.

  4. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Quiet happiness.

  5. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Noah saw the land.

  6. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Rural Evryday Life.

  7. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Chapter Nine Genesis..

  8. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Keep the warmth in your heart.

  9. My Journey Through the Graphite World - The genealogy of the sons of Noah.

  10. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Human Pride.

  11. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Fisherman.

  12. My Journey Through the Graphite World - Abraham is on his way to Egypt.


reallygreatsite.com.gif


More to come!

Enjoy viewing the photos and reading the article!

Have a blessed day!


Category:Art, drawing, illustration.
Tools:Graphite pencils B3, B6, B8, HB and 2=HB, eraser, sharpener.
The format of a sheet of paper, canvas:Sheet of paper A5.
Location:Ukraine
Author:Author @barski. In my publications you will see only my author's works.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center