ᔕᗩᑎTᗩ ᑕᒪᗩᑌᔕ Iᔕ ᑕOᗰIᑎG TO TOᗯᑎ || IYᑕ ᑕOᑎTEᔕT EᑎTᖇY

First Image (2).png

I live in a multicultural, multiracial, multilingual - well, just throw in all the multi's you can!! That's us - Malaysia!! Some of us, including me, take pride in celebrating to some degree every festival - hey, they are all holidays!

Chinese New Year, I'd wear red for luck and seek the dragon/lion dances.

Hari Raya, I'd wear the traditional Baju Kurung which is very forgiving for all the eating of lemang & rendang as I visit family and friends.

Deepavali, the festival of lights gives me another chance at lots of Indian cuisines prepared by family and friends.

Christmas, with year-end bonuses and sales, school holidays and year-end holidays to clear, what is there not to celebrate. Malls are decorated with everything Christmas, concourse areas with popup shops to sell cookies, costumes, gifts. Christmas jingles playing in the background and events organised for children to enjoy.

We don't have snow here as it is a Tropical climate, but lots of cotton and stickers are used to give the winter wonderland effect. Even companies have Secret Santa events for all who'd like to participate.

To give you a glimpse, here's a neighbourhood park in full-on Christmas vibe. Not all parks are like these though, but this area has many expats and the rich- full stop.
1.png

2.png

3.png

4.png

5.png

7.png

6.png

8.png

0.png

And that's just the neighbourhood park. I haven't visited some of the bigger malls this year but I will try to just take some pictures.

HEART DIVIDER.png
This is my entry to the #IntroduceYourCity writing challenge which is to share how Christmas or other religious festivals are celebrated in your town. You can find out more HERE and join in the fun.

THANKYOU.PNG

All images are from my gallery and edited on canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center