This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Crochet Ruffle Socks.

Hello Hello✨

For a while now, I have seen these ruffle crochet socks almost everywhere I turned to online and during one of these encounters, I made a mental note to try making them one of these days.
1000019233.jpg

Going through my gallery this week, I came across a screenshot of the ruffle socks and decided to finally give it a try.

On first glance, one can easily tell that crochet socks would be so comfortable to wear around. There was this set of comfy flip flops I had once upon a time. They always felt so soothing on their feet and they were perfect for walking indoors.
1000019224.jpg
Where these flip flops went, I am not certain but making crochet socks in place of the flip flops didn't sound like such a bad idea and so I indulged.



Materials used

  • 4.5 mm crochet hook
  • 80g of yarn
  • Darning needle
  • a pair of scissors
  • Measuring tape.


Procedure

I have an average sized foot and for this project, I made judgments using the measurement I got.

First off, I started by making a magic ring. Into the magic ring, I made ten half double crochet stitches.

1000018855.jpg

After making the ten half double crochet stitches, I closed up the ring, bringing all the stitches together. With that, I chained two and began working on my second row.

For row two, I made an increase into every stitch. By the end of row two, I had twenty stitches and not ten.

For row three, I alternated my stitches.Two normal stitches and then an increase in the next stitch. I continued this way and by the end of row three, I had forty stitches.

With that, I didn't make any more increases. From row four, I continued making simple half double crochet stitches and at the end of each row, I slip stitched to join the ends.

1000018905.jpg
I continued working round till I got two thirds of my foot measurement. One can easily try on the sock at this point to ensure it fits properly. This point should be the point just before the foot joint(ankle).

1000018918.jpg

The next thing I did was make seventeen half double crochet stitches. In total, I made seven rows of seventeen half double crochet stitches after which I folded them in half and slip stitched both sides to join them together and cut off the yarn. Note, the slip stitches should be done on the wrong side of the sock.
1000019222.jpg

After this, I turned my sock inside out, attached my yarn again and made a row of single crochet stitches round the opening for the sock to define the edges.

1000019007.jpg
After defining the edges, I started making my ruffles. In total, I made three rows of ruffles. The first two rows were with half double crochet stitches and the last row was with double crochet stitches.

Once the ruffles were done, I sewed in my loose strands of yarn with a darning needle, tried my socks/ flip flops on and I haven't taken them off ever since:)

Making a pair of crochet socks can be very easy as long as one focuses. For this pair of socks, it took about four hours to make. A greater portion of the time was allocated to the ruffles. I've come to realise that crochet ruffles do not only take time but a whole lot of yarn too.

1000019209.jpg
This pair of crochet ruffle socks feel very comfortable and the good thing is that the yarn I used doesn't feel harsh on the skin. These socks were made to be feel free; not too tight and not too loose, so they are just right.

1000019223.jpg

What do you think of the ruffle socks? Would you like to have one of these?



All images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device except stated otherwise.


Love 🤍

Logo
Center