What a Great Pull! (Static Emote)


What a Great Pull! (Static Emote).gif
Edited in Canva Pro.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Sources and Materials

Below are the materials I used in this art.


Materials Used AE PS PEN.gif
Edited in Canva Pro.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif




๐•ด๐–“๐–™๐–—๐–”๐–‰๐–š๐–ˆ๐–™๐–Ž๐–”๐–“

Recently, I've been enjoying getting cards in the rewards. They're mostly commons and rares and a few epics. With that, I kind of wanted to have an emote that would go along with that, to show off what great pulls you had from those daily reward chests.

Soon, Rebellion will be out and when you get some new amazing cards, I think you will remember this emote.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 1 Draft

I wanted something associated with money so I immediately remembered our forgotten pirates from the Water Elements. I specifically used Pirate Captain because... Well, he's the captain.


Pirate Captain.png
๐”“๐”ฅ๐”ฌ๐”ฑ๐”ฌ ๐”ฃ๐”ฏ๐”ฌ๐”ช ๐”ช๐”ถ ๐”–๐”ญ๐”ฉ๐”ฆ๐”ซ๐”ฑ๐”ข๐”ฏ๐”ฉ๐”ž๐”ซ๐”ก๐”ฐ ๐”ž๐” ๐” ๐”ฌ๐”ฒ๐”ซ๐”ฑ.


I added a few more details like the armband and this is what I got:


Step 1 draft.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 2 Digital Lineart

Honestly, I forgot a very large portion of the art and had to go back during the shadowing process. Even at the beginning, something itches on me that I something is wrong. Do you see what's wrong in this draft?


Step 1 draft.PNG


Answer: Mustache.


I added that and cleaned up a few parts here and there and this is the outcome for the digital outline:
Digital Art.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 3 Base Color

Using the original art as my base, I filled in the base colors of each part. For this one, I saw that the skin is particularly darker than what I normally use as a skin combination so I decided to stay true to the original:


Step 3 Base Color.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 4 Eyes

This one's a bit hard because the original art has the eyes on side view. There's no color that I can copy or the nature of the eyes. That's why I made my own using a combination of blue colors and shades along with the different brushes. Below is some screenshots on making the eyes from start to finish:

Eyes 1.PNG Eyes 2.PNG Eyes 3.PNG Eyes 4.PNG Eyes 5.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 5 Shadows 1

Using the original art as the base of the colors, I applied the shadows to the appropriate areas:


Step 5 Shadows.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 6 Shadows 2

Some of the parts, I included a second shadow. Specifically, two examples are the ear and the area at the neck below the mustache.

Step 6 Shadows 2 ears.PNG Step 6 Clothes Shadows 2.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 7 Highlights

To balance out the shadows, a I added highlights on some areas as well like the hair or the clothes. I wanted to add some highlights on the face but ended up in vain. I removed it as I don't want to ruin my emote.


Step 7 Highlights.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 8 Second Lineart

This one's a lot less colorful than my other emotes so instead of a colored lineart, I decided to add a secondary lineart instead.

I expanded on the outer lines by 2 more pixels and filled with more blacks.


Step 8 Second Lineart.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 9 Cards

For the cards, I added some lines and shadows as a temporary place holder.


Step 9 Cards shadow.PNG

Then, I added the Splinterlands title logo planning to make it the card design:


SPL Background.png

I cropped the logo to fit the card and cut the excess images using the eraser tool.


Step 9 Cards Base.PNG

It still looks a bit dry so I added another Splinterlands logo from their site, which I like to call the Splinterbites logo. (I'm not sure if it's the official name)


Splinterlogo.png

I added some texts, "Splinterlands" in white font, and added some text effects. I placed a blank layer on top of it then merge with the text layers to make it an image instead of text layer.

This allowed me to be able to edit the text and cut it out.


Step 9 cards final.PNG


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 10 Background Glow

Next, I added a layer at the very bottom. This allows me to have everything I add to go as a background. Since this is a celebration, a soft shadow to make the image pop.


Step 10 Outer Glow.PNG



Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Author's Note Banner.gif

And that's how I made this week's emote.


Great Pull Final.png

I certainly had some difficulties in this one and to be perfectly transparent, I also think this is subpar from my previous ones. I can't put my finger on it but I will also agree that this one's not my best work but is not one of my worsts as well.



I've added a quick coloring time lapse as proof from start to finish and just for fun because timelapses looks amazing. I didn't make the timelapse on the animation because it's boring and technical. This one's only the coloring part:
Timelapse.gif








Before I leave you on this week's art post, I just want to hype that for next week will be Christmas themed. While I cannot offer anything huge, I'll be giving out 100 Ecency points each to the first 5 comments in my next week's art post. Thank you for supporting me all this year.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Disclaimer Banner.gif

  • This post is an entry for Splinterland's Art Contest.
  • Other sources that I do not own are cited under their respective photos. Photos and drawings without cited sources are mine and made for this post.
  • Animated Banners and Dividers are edited in Canva Pro.
  • Some of the fonts used are from instafonts.io

If I seem to forget to cite other sources, this would be unintentional. Please leave it on the comments below to be added in the post. Thanks.

If you're interested in playing the game, support me by registering using my referral link here



Outro Banner 1.gif
แ•ผแ—ฉแฏE แ–ดแ‘Œแ‘Ž แ—ชแ–‡แ—ฉแ—ฏIแ‘ŽG!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency