My Splinterlands Art Compilation #1


Art Compilation Cover 1.JPG


INTRODUCTION

I first learned of the art contest a few weeks after I started my Splinterlands account. It was astonishing how much my drawings improved throughout these months. Here's a little bit of compilation of my journey.







Splinterlands Dividers



Splinterlands Water Divider
Splinterlands Fire Divider

This is not really drawing but rather a collage of photos made by different artists. I made 2 of it in total and they were good. However, the outcome is only good because the sources are good and not because of my ability as an artist.







Two Gun Pete


21_04_2022_10_15_36.jpg
Two Gun Pete Post

Even at the start, I know that I suck at coloring traditionally. This is my first attempt of drawing after 5 years being out of practice. Everything here is not good but I know it from the start and I'm not disheartened by it. Everything is hard from the start. I don't have talent when it comes to drawing but my art is backed with hardwork and practice when I was in grade school so I know it would become better eventually.








The Making of Tarsa Icon



The Making of Tarsa Icon

I wanted to explore and thinking of my next venture. Every game has an avatar or icon of your choice to represent yourself. The thing is, I don't find the icons on Splinterlands very appealing and outdated so I decided to make one myself.







Tarsa goes to school



Tarsa Goes to School

Wouldn't it be great to see the characters show their day to day life? I would say, "yes," so I had Splinterlands's own mischievous little girl go to school.







Tarsa goes to bed



Tarsa Goes to Bed

It was the same idea but different approach. The thing I learned here is that "concepts" and "representations" are what males an art good. You don't need to be good at drawing but need to be good on representing the things you want to express.

I don't need to draw a whole bed to show that Tarsa is lying on one. The different gradients of grays and blacks represents the creases on the sheets on the bed making your brain think she is on top of the bed.







Voyeur in the Woods




Voyeur in the Woods

This is one of my proudest work and maybe the most color coherent even up to the present. After getting a lot of positive feedbacks, Voyeur in the Woods is when I realized that I can color better than what I was expecting from myself.

Using compatible color scheme for shading is what I learned from doing this.







Kaika Hanabi, the Tenyii Slasher


Step 11 Final 1 with Exposure.png
Kaika Hanabi, the Tenyii Slasher

I want to stamp my own identity in Splinterlands and I saw in the rules that you are allowed to draw an original character for Splinterlands.

Among all of my drawings, this is the one overflowing with ambition. I combined 3 inspirations to create the Tenyii Slasher and make an amazing concept. The only thing I would change if I am to make her again is that I would go digital colors since the colors came out paler than what I was hoping for.







Tenyii Striker, I choose you!


Step 10 horn.jpg

Tenyii Striker, I choose you!

While watching youtube, I saw a clip of the first season of Pokemon and it gave me nostalgia. I kind of wanted other people to have the same feeling and so, I made this pokemon-like battle screen between Tenyii Striker and Unicorn Mustang.

I was happy that it came out good even if there's limited information to use for Tenyii Striker.







Aril, the Summoned Succubus


Final xxx.jpg

Aril the Summoned Succubus

On this art, I use a special material not commonly used by others. I saw this on youtube and wanted to try it out.

I wanted to know if the eyeliner as pen really works or it is one of those fakes like some 5 minute crafts. I was happy that it turned out great.

The only thing I would change is that the colors on thr wings looks more of a dragon than with a succubus but that's a limitation on the colors of the colored pencil that I use.







Twisted Jester Unmasked


Final.jpg
Twisted Jester Unmasked

I thought this would get better upvotes than the last. To me, this was my BEST work so far. Drawing males is hard for me because they have limited styles of hair. This makes them hard to stand out and be remembered.

Still, I said this is my best work because of how good it turned out. It also looked the cleanest despite of the risk by doing a male character.

This drawing gave me confidence that I could also do good male characters in the future.








Author's Notes


Aqua Teacher.png

Every step, I learned something new that I was able to apply on my next drawing. I remembered someone saying that I was lucky having great talent when it comes to drawing and I argued that I don't have talent when it comes to drawing.

Talent is something that is there when you were born. Talent is like height or metabolism. It is something innate. My drawing is backed not by talent but hard work. I was veeeery terrible when I started. I was worse than most people, if I am honest.

You can see the difference between Two Gun Pete and Twisted Jester. I learned throughout my journey and that's how I made my drawings better.

The reason I am saying this is not to be humble or boast but to give confidence to others that if you like to draw, you can get better.

Even if you're one of the untalented people like me, you can get better as long as you practice and remember ehat you learned every step of the way. Remember what you learned and never forget where you came from.







Disclaimer

  • This post is an entry for Splinterland's Social Media Challenge.
  • While the posts and drawings are mine, some of the characters are from Splinterlands like Two Gun Pete, Tenyii Striker, Unicorn Mustang, Wood Nymph, Tarsa, etc.
If I seem to forget to cite other sources, this would be unintentional. Please leave it on the comments below to be added in the post. Thanks.

If you're interested in playing the game, support me by registering using my referral link here



Thank you for your time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency