Deja Vu Trip to Taiwanese breakfast



clplyie9j02wuctsza5nb6mon_IMG_3193.webp
clplyie4402soa2szgb0j2fl5_IMG_3194.webp
clplyih1i02v483szh6hgdr0r_IMG_3195.webp
clplyijgu02z3eqsz635tc39n_IMG_3196.webp
clplyijm402vsaesz5y0uc11o_IMG_3198.webp

As I mentioned in my last post, this trip to Taiwan felt like a déjà vu, mirroring a journey I took a few years back. We retraced the same culinary paths, immersing ourselves once again in the vibrant food scene. This visit marked my second time at the Dadaocheng Cisheng Temple, located near Dadaocheng Pier. Searching for a breakfast spot, a Taiwanese friend suggested this place. He had taken me there on my last visit, and although he couldn't join us this time, he fondly reminded us of that previous experience.

Joining me were my boyfriend Kevin, my dad, and my stepmom. The area was a bustling strip filled with street food carts, offering an array of dishes to choose from. Among the variety, one could expect to find Luroufan, almost a national dish of Taiwan. We indulged in red pork, tofu, and eggs, all braised together in a pot with a blend of herbs. We also tried shrimp cake soup, which I believe contained boiled or poached eggs and wintermelon. The oyster omelette was another highlight.

Most of these dishes are familiar to me, bearing a striking resemblance to the Chinese-influenced cuisine I grew up with in Thailand. Although the flavors are similar, each dish has its unique twist, differing slightly in cooking style. I have a fondness for the versions I grew up with, but exploring these variations was a good Taiwan trip experience.

This place is ideal for its variety. In addition to the culinary exploration, visitors can also experience Taiwanese culture by making merit at the Dadaocheng Cisheng Temple. A short walk away is the Dadaocheng Pier, offering a scenic view. In the evenings, the area comes alive with food stalls and entertainment, making it a worthwhile destination if you're in the area.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now