SATURDAY SPECIAL: EGUSI SOUP WITH PONMO AND FISH

IMG-20220219-WA0060.jpg

Today, I am going to share a recipe I love so much with you. I decided to make EGUSI soup garnished with chopped PONMO for breakfast. Egusi soup is a local delicacy made from melon seeds and it's enjoyed by many in my region and other cultures. There are actually various ways to prepare it and this here is one of the numerous ways by which it can be made. Egusi soup can be served with indigenous morsel foods like Pounded yam, Amala, Eba, etc., as well as others like rice and spaghetti.

So, to get started, these ingredients listed below have to be ready:

⦁ Egusi (Melon seed)
⦁ Fresh pepper
⦁ Palm Oil
⦁ PONMO (Cowskin)
⦁ Fish
⦁ Waterleaf
⦁ Onions
⦁ Seasoning
⦁ Salt

PROCEDURE:

1)I got the waterleaf, Ponmo, and Onions ready by washing them thoroughly and then chopping them into smaller bits. Also, I added little water to the already grounded egusi (melon) and stirred it to form a thick paste. The fresh pepper was grated too.

Chopped Waterleaf

Chopped Cowskin

IMG_20220201_125507_5.jpg

2)The palm oil, in the desired quantity, is preheated for some minutes. The grated pepper and chopped onions are added to the palm oil to fry out a little, stirred, and allowed to cook for some time.

IMG_20220201_131710.jpg

3)Then the melon paste is then poured into the hot sauce and allowed to fry. Do not stir yet. When the frying is done well, you can now stir the whole mixture together.

The melon paste

IMG_20220201_133925.jpg

4)The Ponmo, seasoning, and salt to taste can now go in and all stirred. Then left to cook well.

5)After the whole thing is almost done, my vegetable - the waterleaf - sealing comes in and all are stirred together. In my last post in the Foodies Bee Hive community, I stated why I make my vegetables last in my cooking. I also added the fried fish at this point. Why? This is because it has been fried already.

IMG_20220201_134246.jpg

6)Our delectable EGUSI WITH PONMO AND FISH IS READY!!

IMG_20220201_144111.jpg

IMG_20220201_144204.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now