Wander and Savor : My First Time Eating Cajun Food



clfu80inz005x8dszfrkk4c1v_20230307_1605011.webp
clfu80ieq0067aksz9ywvfyao_20230307_155433.webp
clfu81257006p6kszdmy8cpy3_20230307_1605011.webp
clfu81a8j005w7aszex8qbqdg_20230307_155427.webp
clfu81das00525dsz79949ngj_20230307_154543.webp

Bourbon Street Restaurant & Oyster Bar

There is always first time of everything and, this time for me it’s tasting cajun and southern cooking. So, in today’s series of Wander and Savor, I am taking you through my experience tasting my first cajun cooking in Thailand. Though it’s not my first time hearing about it, I still haven’t tasted that much Cajun’s cooking. There are a few that I have heard of like andouille sausage and crawfish but I suppose to taste them all, I have to go to the southern states than well, eating it outside its origin. But for now, interestingly, in Thailand there are a few places with such dishes and one is called Bourbon Street Restaurant & Oyster Bar.

In that place, they set up the atmosphere jazzy-like with some waitress attentively trying to cater to your needs. They were all dressed neatly and would pour the water on your glass. They are also decorated with an antique aquarium and play some nice music. The place isn’t that far from a BTS station, so you can definitely walk from Ekkamai BTS station. Then walk through the shopping malls and it will be on the left side of the road.

The restaurant offers a variety of menu that you can choose and it was definitely difficult to choose. But eventually I was getting the shrimp bisque(as far as I remember) and red beans and rice which had a unique taste and I got the chance to finally taste andouille sausage. Then, for drinks I got blue kamikaze which I finished way too early because it was just sooo good. Despite being a cocktail, it’s very smooth and I quite enjoyed it. I wished I had more of it when I could.

Everything from that restaurant tasted really good to me. Although I am not so sure if you’re from the actual state where the food is from. Since it was my first time trying all those, I simply have no comparison but now that I tasted it, if I ate something similar, I would have more comparisons. One of the thing that I find quite odd is the combination of rice and cornbread. It's definitely a rich carb meal.

I certainly want to learn how to make the shrimp with the bisque because it tasted godly and it’s something that you can make in huge batches and won’t stop snacking on the shrimps. That being said, if you’re in Bangkok, don’t miss out trying this place and checking out some cajun food and even po-boys! Also, definitely try the blue kamikaze.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center