Good Food Hard Times : Warm Rice With Fried Egg & Soy Sauce

What's your go to meal during hard times?

bussinfood.png

Recently, the internet is buzzing over the NYT times about a Gyeran Bap tweet which essentially is rice with egg. As simple as it sounds, that food is common across ASIA with different versions. Growing up, rice and egg have been a staple in my family even more, during difficult times. When I was a kid, I happened to eat rice with egg so often that eventually I was banned from eating eggs as the doctor advised my mom that I could never eat egg anymore or otherwise, i’d have terrible allergic reactions like that time. Well, I ended up not eating any eggs until I was in middle school and now, just eating them sparingly. So, I grew up thinking that eating eggs is such a luxury. Since then, during difficult times, my family and I would choose to eat rice with tofu or tempe instead of egg.

DSC08627.JPG

This is just exactly how it would be served at warung with the same style plate and silver spoon. Well, minus the crackers.

However, the idea of eating rice with egg was again popularized during the lockdown back in 2020 where the Indonesian economy was pretty much halted and massive layouts were happening. Silly me, during that time I even ordered this meal from a famous cafe and it cost me more than $2.5 just for hot rice, fried egg, and soy sauce on top. Now, it’s really been a while since I had that meal, so now I am going to recreate this comforting and filling meal.

DSC08593.JPG

DSC08599.JPG

It’s not rocket science to make this comforting food. Depending on how many eggs you can have, you are free to eat more than one. But during difficult times, one is more than enough. Then, after that, preheat the pan with cooking oil. And cook the egg depending on how you want it. Usually the egg is served with crackers or “kerupuk” but if you don’t have that, that’s fine too. Another thing, salt is necessary but for me, I don’t like salt on my eggs. So, I definitely omit that step in this cooking part.

DSC08615.JPG

DSC08603.JPG

DSC08617.JPG

In Indonesia, it’s often that these eggs are sold and cooked with lots of oil. Many people cook it on a wok instead of a non-stick pan like I have. So essentially, the egg is bathing on the sea of cooking oil. Then, they would strain the egg and add some garnish and the highlight of this recipe, soy sauce or the locals call it “kecap” which is a thick sauce made from fermented soy beans. If you buy it from local warung, this meal would cost around 10000IDR which is around $0.67 or about 1 hive and a few cents. But if you make it at home, it's definitely going to be cheaper.

You can do it at home too and let me know if you have different versions of this in your country!

Thumbnail created with canva free to use for commercial purpose, ©sketchify

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me on Buymeberries!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center