An early craving of Chicken Rice (steamed version)

I can never get tired of eating Chicken Rice! Iā€™ve realized that I can eat this dish more than once a week and still crave it. The only reason I donā€™t eat it more often is that there are other great dishes I want to try; otherwise, Iā€™d be perfectly content with this simple plate of food.

90BB3CBF-E9B7-41BF-9D4A-D3E49D8A2098.jpeg

I think itā€™s the simplicity of this dish that makes it so palatable to people from all backgrounds. Itā€™s fascinating how many people claim it as the most popular dish in the country. While others might suggest different dishes, for me, this one remains the favorite.

7BFC13C0-2623-48F8-BD7E-C103C84F531F.jpeg

Although the method of making this dish is standard across the country, the taste can vary slightly from stall to stall. This could be due to the choice of chicken, slight modifications in the seasoning or ingredients, or even the passion of the chef, which often comes through in the dish's flavor profile.

CB52F4AE-212B-4808-9E70-4FAB008879E8.jpeg

For this lunch, I went to one of the popular food centers in the Maxwell area and ordered a generous plate of the steamed version of chicken rice. Itā€™s characterized by white-colored chicken with a nice gelatinous texture on the skin. The meat is juicy and very flavorful, thanks to the herbs and seasonings used during cooking.

BE859078-B6B3-4575-A9B1-7E380F965569.jpeg

This dish is never complete without the rice thatā€™s specifically made for it. You can't pair it with any other type of rice, as it wouldnā€™t taste like a cohesive dish without it. The rice is flavored with chicken stock and the same herbs and seasonings used for the chicken, making it incredibly flavorful. Sometimes I find myself just eating the rice, and Iā€™m already satisfied. Thatā€™s the amazing thing about this dish, it has been perfected and refined to the point where itā€™s reached its most flavorful state. I appreciate how seriously chefs take this dish, knowing that any mistake could cost them their customers. People are passionate about chicken rice, making the competition in this scene even more intense. While the price has increased over the past few years, Iā€™m glad I can still enjoy the authentic flavor of this dish.

Overall, my experience with this dish was very satisfying. Iā€™ll definitely be returning to try the roasted version as well.


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center