A Homestyle Taiwanese Meal at Golden Mile Food Centre

I went out for an early lunch today. Somehow, Saturdays make me crave something different. Since I usually go for local cuisines, I decided to switch things up and try a Taiwanese-style food stall at Golden Mile Food Centre.

The name of the stall is Taiwan Fan Bao! They have a nice branding on their signage too.

IMG-20240831-WA0111.jpg

IMG-20240831-WA0107.jpg

IMG-20240831-WA0106.jpg

I’m not sure if they have other branches, but this is the one I know that makes this particular dish. There’s another Taiwanese-style stall in the same food center, but I prefer this one because it tastes like home-cooked food. The other stall is nice too, but its food feels more commercialized; I’m not sure how else to explain it, but that’s just how it tastes to me.

IMG-20240831-WA0110.jpg

Another reason I often visit this place is the affordability of the food. I ordered the Chicken Thigh set meal from their menu. It costs only $5 and includes a generous portion of chicken thigh, two veggie dishes of my choice, and a perfectly cooked hard-boiled egg.

IMG-20240831-WA0109.jpg

IMG-20240831-WA0113.jpg

IMG-20240831-WA0108.jpg

I think you can tell from my plate that it’s a great deal! I’m not sure how I managed to finish the entire meal, but it was so good that I eventually did.

The veggies I selected were sautéed mushrooms and tomatoes. Both were excellent! The tomato was juicy and sweet, while the mushrooms had a unique, tender texture with a slight savory flavor. Either of these side dishes could stand on their own, and they perfectly complemented the grilled chicken.

All the dishes are pre-cooked, which is why the serving speed is quick. As soon as I ordered, the meal was assembled on the spot and served to me right away.

IMG-20240831-WA0112.jpg

The grilled chicken was tasty too, though I wished it had been cooked fresh to retain more moisture and flavor. It was still good, which means it was cooked well; otherwise, it would have been tough or chewy.

IMG-20240831-WA0115.jpg

One more thing to commend about this meal is the perfectly cooked hard-boiled egg. Personally, I prefer it this way, the yolk is still orange and moist, but not too saucy or runny, which I don’t particularly like.

IMG-20240831-WA0116.jpg

Overall, it was a great dish and a satisfying meal. I’m feeling full and ready for dessert 😊


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center