A comforting bowl of chicken ginseng soup for my lunch!

I'm not feeling so great today so I decided to treat myself to a comforting bowl of chicken ginseng soup.

IMG-20240902-WA0071.jpg

While this Korean dish may not be as popular as Samgyupsal, itā€™s my go-to when I need a pick-me-up. Thereā€™s something about it that always leaves me feeling revitalized. In my opinion, this is one of the healthiest Korean dishes out there, and I wouldnā€™t mind indulging in it at least once a week.

IMG-20240902-WA0070.jpg

IMG-20240902-WA0074.jpg

IMG-20240902-WA0076.jpg

Now, the only reason I donā€™t order it more often is the price. At $9.50, itā€™s a bit on the higher side, especially compared to typical food center options. But hereā€™s the thing: this soup is easily shareable between two people, or perfect for one really hungry soul whoā€™s ready to spend a little for a more premium experience.

IMG-20240902-WA0069.jpg

The portion size is no joke. You get a hearty serving with a sizable chicken leg and thigh, almost like a quarter cut. Trust me, when you see the amount of chicken swimming in that broth, youā€™ll know itā€™s worth every penny. The generous portion left me truly satisfied.

IMG-20240902-WA0077.jpg

IMG-20240902-WA0079.jpg

IMG-20240902-WA0078.jpg

As for the ginseng, itā€™s subtle. I didnā€™t notice any overpowering bitterness, just a few delicate slices cooked alongside the chicken, infusing the soup with a gentle earthy note. There were also a few slivers of ginger, adding a refreshing zing to each spoonful.

IMG-20240902-WA0073.jpg

IMG-20240902-WA0075.jpg

What really thrilled me was the sheer amount of chicken. Yes, the price is a bit steep, but the quality and the generous serving made it worthwhile. Plus, the healing properties of this nutritious soup lifted my spirits, leaving me feeling better than before.

Iā€™ll definitely be back to try the beef version of this dish. Iā€™m curious to see how it stacks up against the chicken, though I suspect the beef might be a bit tougher.

Iā€™ll be sure to share my thoughts as soon as I give it a try!


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center