Super Simple Home-Cooked Dish | Beef In Black Pepper Sauce

It has been a couple of weeks since I posted my simple recipes. I have written five recipe posts in the past, and you can find the links to each of them here:

Cooking is definitely not my forte, so I cook mostly simple meals that can be prepared in the shortest time. The recipe I am going to share is no exception. I made this recipe myself, and there is no specific name to it. I simply called it beef in black pepper sauce. Perhaps I should have been more creative, but for the sake of simplicity, let's just stick to that name 😆.

My family seldom eats beef, maybe twice a month if we are lucky. I prefer premium imported beef from Australia to local ones because of the taste and its more tolerable odor than local beef. And, of course, imported beef is expensive, so I don't buy it frequently. Another reason is that I want to consume less red meat because, you know, eating too much red meat is not good for health. And it's not just beef, I seldom cook pork, too, and often only eat it whenever we eat out.

❤️ The Ingredients ❤️
  • A clove of garlic and small size ginger.
  • Beef (as much as you need). This portion is enough for our family of 4 people.

1.jpg

  • Two potatoes. Cut the potatoes in half lengthwise and cut them into cubes or slice them thinly. I prefer to slice them thinly so it cook faster.
  • Scallion or a stalk of spring onion.
  • Salt and seasoning (optional) - not in photo
  • Sugar - not in photo
  • Cooking oil - not in photo

2.jpg

  • And the secret to make this yummy dish - the black pepper sauce!

3.jpg

❤️ Super Duper Simple Instructions ❤️
  • Pour and heat up one tablespoon of cooking oil. Use low heat because you want to use the oil to sauté the garlic and ginger.

4.jpg

  • Sauté the garlic and ginger in medium heat until the aroma arises. This take roughly 30 seconds.

5.jpg

  • Put in the beef and a quarter cup of water and simmer for 5 minutes in medium heat.
  • Stir it occasionally using a ladle so it will cook evenly.

6.jpg

  • Put in the potatoes and if it's too dry, pour in more water but not too much, otherwise it will become too soupy.
  • Stir occasionally and cook until the potatoes are soft, but not too soft!

7.jpg

  • Put in one or two tablespoons of black pepper sauce.
  • Sprinkle salts sparingly to taste.
  • Sprinkle sugar sparingly to taste.
  • It will make the dish taste salty and sweet at the same time but not too overwhelming. It makes the black pepper flavor pop.
  • Stir occasionally for one minute and turn off the heat.

8.jpg

  • Wash and chop the spring onions and sprinkle them on the dish and voila!
  • If you don't have spring onions, you can use other herbs to garnish. I just happened to have spring onions in my kitchen.

9.jpg

  • Serve it with hot rice or in my case, I packed it with rice and a vegetable dish for my husband to bring to work.

10.jpg

What do you think of this dish? Will you give it a try or do you have a better idea to tweak the recipe? Share them in the comment below 😃

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Note: All images used belong to me unless stated otherwise.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

💲💲💲 Blog on Read.Cash And Earn Bitcoin Cash Like Me. Click Here 💲💲💲

Check out my NFT Collections on OpenSea

My Third NFT Collection - Women Empowerment - Is Now Available On NFTShowroom

nftshowroom.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now