Super Simple Home-Cooked Dish | Airfryer Honey Chicken

I have been writing four simple recipe posts in the past couple of months, and you can find the links to them here:

I have mentioned several times in the past that cooking is not my forte. I don't enjoy cooking despite doing it 2 to 3 times a day most days of the week. Thus most of my recipes are very simple to prepare using ingredients that are easy to find in most places. I love sharing these recipes on Hive. And I hope I can give ideas to anyone who doesn't enjoy cooking (or has no talent in cooking) like me but still has to do it to feed their families.

I am sure you have tried honey chicken in the past because it is a common dish everywhere. But how to prepare and cook this dish the simplest way? Using the "air fryer", of course! This recipe is for you if you have an "air fryer" at home. But if you don't have an "air fryer", you can still fry the chicken on a pan (or using an oven), but it may take longer. And you also get extra calories from the oil you used to fry it.

Some of you might wonder, what in the world is an "air fryer"?

An air fryer is a small countertop convection oven designed to simulate deep frying without submerging the food in oil. ~ Wikipidia

Philips introduced the first "air fryer" on the market in 2010. I remember feeling excited about it but had to put aside my dream of owning one because the price was so expensive. Nowadays, you can buy a good quality one that costs less than MYR200 (USD43). I purchased my "air fryer" for MYR169 at Mr.DIY about a couple of years ago during the lockdown. It is hands down one of the best purchases I have ever made. It makes cooking so much easier and reduces our oil consumption by at least 80%.

❤️ The Ingredients ❤️

Chicken thighs, but if you don't have chicken thighs, you may use other chicken parts like the breast. Make sure to cut them into similar sizes to avoid uneven cooking in the air fryer. I removed most of the skin and fats for a healthier dish and to reduce the calories. You may sprinkle some salts and preferred seasonings (optional) and let the chicken marinate for 15 minutes.

1.jpg

  • Two tablespoons of soy sauce
  • Two tablespoons of honey
  • One tablespoon of corn flour mixed with water

3.jpg

❤️ Super Duper Simple Instructions ❤️
  • Preheat the air fryer. Different brands may have different requirements so make sure to check your model. I preheated my air fryer at 180C for 3 minutes.
  • Once heated, place and arrange the chicken in the basket. Make sure to put every pieces in a single layer so they will cook evenly.
  • Press the appropriate buttons (depending on your model) and wait for it to cook. It took me 20 minutes to fry the chicken at 180C.

2.jpg

You may start preparing the sauce while the chicken is cooking. The sauce must be prepared on the stove using a pan. Pour a small amount of water, soy sauce, and honey into the pan. Boil it in low heat for a couple of minutes and stir it slowly. Add in the corn flour mixture (using a spoon) to thicken the sauce. Stir until the sauce is thickened.

4.jpg

And voila...the sauce is ready!

5.jpg

The chicken is finally cooked. Take it out from the basket...

6.jpg

...and place it inside the pan, and mix it with the sauce.

7.jpg

And our honey chicken is ready to serve!

8.jpg

So there...that was my simple and wholesome lunch for the day 😃

9.jpg

What do you think of this simple recipe? Please leave your comments below 😀

That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Note: All images used belong to me unless stated otherwise.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!

💲💲💲 Blog on Read.Cash And Earn Bitcoin Cash Like Me. Click Here 💲💲💲

Check out my NFT Collections on OpenSea

My Third NFT Collection - Women Empowerment - Is Now Available On NFTShowroom

nftshowroom.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now