Haggis Neeps and Tatties for the win!

Haggis Neeps and Tatties for the win!

This is an article written for the #septemberinleo writing prompt series and Day 12 prompt ....

My experience of this prompt could be described as being delicious

Catch the original announcement in this thread

day 12! Hive Naija invites you to share your favorite national dish, from your own country or one that you visited.

Why is it your favorite? Can you cook it? What's its history?

Drop your posts on the community Hive Naija 🇳🇬!

So much awful food I prefer offal!

Scotland is full of myths!

Do you know the national animal of Scotland?

Well let me tell you boy ....

It is a fluffing unicorn!!!

Yes a fluffing unicorn is the national animal of Scotland

I saw this yesterday when out shopping!

Once a Unicorn always a unicorn!

So there is a bit of a clue regarding Scotland mythical beings and yes food!!!

Q What is Scotland's national food dish?

A Haggis Neeps and Tatties

Yes it has to be Haggis Neeps and Tatties... I love it, I love its simplicity and I love its taste!

This was cooked by me ....

So let's break it down ....

It comprises three parts ....

  1. Neeps or Turnips or I think in American they call them rutabagas....

  2. Potatoes or I believe you guys in Naijaland call them Irish. I wonder if that is due to the potato famine in 1847 in Ireland when the potato harvest failed there were thousands killed by starvation and indeed a huge exodus to America and other places.
    It is not sweet potatoes!

And 3 the haggis itself...

Haggis ... I don't make it but I buy it ready made ...

That is our local award winning butcher who has won many awards for his haggis!

You can see it can bought sliced or as I cooked as a ball...

Traditionally the bag if you like was a sheep's stomach lining.

Haggis is essentially made up of bits of the sheep you don't normally eat , oatmeal and spices...

I do prefer a spicy one, haggis is tasty and many people love it.

On Burns night every January to celebrate Rabbie Burns our national poet we serve haggis and drink whisky at a Burns night!

My Burns night in Nigeria

Many years ago when working in January we decided to have a Burns night. I had my kilt and wore and I was the one who read out the Address to a Haggis well really it is an ode to the haggis but when you address you read it in an old dramatic Scots voice.

Wearing a full kilt and sporran some of the ladies had no idea what to make of it. When they had a few libations and lost their inhibitions,so many hands went up my kilt to check that yes I am a true Scotsman and wear nothing under my kilt!

Fun fluffing times!

We jest that a haggis a little animal running around a mountain...


(screenshot source)

But do we jest? Just look at them!
What do you think?

Haggis.... Real or a myth?

What is your National Food Dish?

Would you eat my haggis ?

Thanks for visiting and I hope you enjoyed my response to the prompt.

Sources and Reference documents

This article is an entry for this month's Inleo writing initiative #septemberinleo

You can find all the details in this thread

Today's prompt is Day 12 | National Food Dish


All ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated, note lead image is generated with AI on freepix.com from a prompt by me.The other photographs are all orginal and taken by me the author.

##
DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN
### **Haste Ye Back!**
@tengolotodo.leo September 14th 2024
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center