Upbringing I like and dislike. Hivenaija prompt #42.

Good day everyone!

Children upbringing is very important for a healthy mind and adulthood. Train up a child in the way he qshould go and when he is grown, he will not depart fr it.

Growing up, my parents upbringing stuck with me dearly especially that of my mother. She was a good home maker, who devotedly raised all her kids in that path. In my mother's eyes every child needed home skills and so therefore, she made sure that all her kids whether boy or girl, she taught all of us how to be home makers.

I would like to replicate this in my own children making sure that each of them know how to care for the home. They should be able to cook well, sweep and take care of the home in general. My son should be able to cook so as to assist his wife at home. My daughter also should be able to care for the home diligently without slacking even when she becomes a career woman.

I have watched how home making skills have deteriorated over time. Many girls don't know how to cook, they are only interested in make up, cosmetics and looking good. This has made most guys afraid to get married. Most guys also do not know how to lift a pin in the house. They live all the house chores for their wives to do causing these women to become over burdened. This is an anomaly and it should not be so. With this, I would also inculcate positive values in my kids.

Now for the upbringing that I won't want to replicate in my children is scolding them unnecessarily and harshly. My parents were not really patient with us as they would not wait to inquire from us what happened or how the error occurred, they would just barge in on us and begin to barrage us with questions impatiently, with slaps and beatings following when answers are not forthcoming. This action of theirs instilled fear of them in us that we hardly relate with our parents on a friendly level.

I would want a difference in my own parenting style as I want my kids to be my friends.

This is my answer to the #hivenaija prompt for this week. This is my first time participating.

Thank you all.

Images used are all mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency