Helping a Stranded Student:Hive Naija weekly prompt week 50

Hello Hive Naija 🇳🇬
Hope your week is going well.
I'm pleased to drop my prompt for this week.
When I saw this week's prompt,I quickly remembered one point where I'd helped someone in school so I decided to share it here..


So one time in school,I was done with my lectures for the day and I was about to go home.
I got to the school gate and saw one of my church members, he's part of the people who usually drive the school shuttle bus and he was on his way home, I decided to join him so that he'll drop me off close to my house since he lives around my route.
When I got into the bus,I met one of my friends from church and another girl with a lot of bags we exchanged pleasantries .
The driver wanted to go get some fuel so he told us he'll be back in a few minutes. . The girl with the bags alighted from the bus and the driver asked her what her next step was, she looked absolutely clueless and tried to make calls but none of it was going through.
Out of curiosity I asked what was going on but she just stood there mute and close to tears, the driver explained that he had picked her up at the schools first gate few minutes ago,he said he noticed she'd been there for over four hours with bags looking very tired so he walked up to her and asked her if she needed help.
Apparently, she got a late admission into the university and she came all the way from Aba to Uyo , her brother is a student of the school and he had not resumed yet , he lived off campus and had told his roommate that his sister was coming over and he should pick her up when she arrives.
When she got to Uyo ,she tried calling her brother but his number was not going through. She called her brother's roommate and he assured her that he was on the way to pick her up , but she waited and waited and he didn't show up , my church member picked her up and brought her into the school and told her to wait inside school since it was a safer option than standing on the road.


After my church member narrated her story, she started to cry and I came down from the bus and gave her a hug, I didn't know what to do for her but I realized at that moment she needed help and a little more assurance, so I assured her that everything will be fine. My friend from church suggested that we try and beg the hostel porters to let her stay the night since it was already getting dark .We tried my friend's idea but the hostel porters refused since it was a rule that only people who pay for hostel space are allowed to spend the night.
At the moment I was confused , by this time my friend had gone to buy dinner so she left me with the girl I didn't know what else to do so we went back to the gate. I'd noticed she hung a rosary on her neck which meant she was a Catholic. An idea came immediately, I decided to take her to the Catholic Church inside the school's premises, with a step of faith,I helped her with some of the bags and we went to the church,I knocked on the gate and the gateman opened up ,we went inside and I began to tell him what happened and pleaded that we needed help he was hesitant at first because of security reasons but I pleaded with him and I assured him that she was only going to stay for a night he decided to help but before he did he asked me to sign an undertaking that I would be responsible for her, it was a big risk but I decided to take it I couldn't stand the facts that she would spend the night with all that luggage outside coupled with the fact that she was a female and it was risky . I signed the undertaking and he took her to where the Reverend Sisters usually stay I was relieved because she finally found a place to lay her head.I was quite surprised because neither her brother or his roommate picked their calls and I began to wonder what would have been happened if I didn't decide to help at the moment because every other student saw her with all those bags looking lost and with tears clouded up in her eyes and nobody asked what was wrong,I don't blame anyone tho because im sure they were trying to mind their business .I was thankful that my church member waited for me till I was able to find help for her.


The next day the first thing I did was to go check up on her she was really happy and enveloped me in a hug she was really grateful for the help I'd offered , finally her brother's roommate picked her calls and came to pick her up at evening, she went ahead to do her screening,pay her school fees and register her courses.
I won't lie I was very scared when I wanted to help her but a lot went through my mind when I imagined myself in her situation and I realized how much she was afraid and needed help, Imagine being in a city where you have never been you don't know anywhere or anyone , I decided to take the step to help her and I'm glad it didn't backfire .Sometimes We take risks to help people the truth is help will never elude us when we need it too.

Have a beautiful week everyone and don't forget to render help when you can.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now