Is This Love - Bob Marley | Hive Open Mic #227


This is my first time posting in the @hiveopenmic community, despite wanting to do so for a long time. Many times I've recorded but I was never happy with the results so I held back, however this time I'm going to just do it, despite the many things I don't like about the recording and certain mistakes I make. I gave it many attempts during the day and in the end this one I liked the most.

The song might not be 100% aligned with the week's theme but it's close enough šŸ˜

At least I can say that my singing practice is starting to give some results. It's been often frustrating and I get tempted to accept the idea that I just won't ever learn. But after today'sšŸ˜€ practice I can finally start hearing some bits here and there that I actually like how I sound. I'm usually very disappointed in my recordings as they sound much better in my head while playing.

There's so much info on the internet on how you should sing and sometimes you'll run into advice that debunks what you had accepted as truth. For example, many teachers say you have to lower the larynx and I was trying so hard to keep it down that it was painful. I recently researched on this and found some coaches saying that a low larynx isn't necessarily the best way, that different styles require different positioning. They also recommended to avoid forcing it down, but rather just avoid it going up in such a way that it creates tension.

Right now I'm practicing using the techniques I've picked up but also just trying to avoid tension overall. Of course, I still forget many things, especially when playing the guitar since that draws quite a bit of my attention. Kudos to all who play guitar and sing at the same time, looks way easier than it is.

The song you probably all know. I decided to learn this one because one day while walking the streets a guy begin to sing it very euphorically and pretending to play the guitar, which just transmitted a very positive energy, which I want to be able to bring back while playing.

Lyrics:

I wanna love you and treat you right
I wanna love you every day and every night
We'll be together with a roof right over our heads
We'll share the shelter of my single bed
We'll share the same room, yeah, but jah provides the bread

Is this love, is this love, is this love
Is this love that I'm feelling'?
Is this love, is this love, is this love
Is this love that I'm feeling'?

I wanna know, wanna know, wanna know now
I got to know, got to know, got to know now
I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I'm willing and able
So I throw my cards on your table

I wanna love you, I wanna love and treat, love and treat you right
I wanna love you every day and every night
We'll be together yeah, with a roof right over our heads
We'll share the shelter yeah, oh yeah, of my single bed
We'll share the same room yeah, but jah provides the bread

Is this love, is this love, is this love
Is this love that I'm feeling'?
Is this love, is this love, is this love
Is this love that I'm feeling'?
Wo-o-o-oah!

Oh yes I know, yes I know, yes I know now
Oh yes I know, yes I know, yes I know now
I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I'm willing and able
So I throw my cards on your table

See I wanna love ya, I wanna love and treat ya, love and treat ya right
I wanna love you every day and every night
We'll be together with a roof right over our heads
We'll share the shelter of my single bed
We'll share the same room yeah, but jah provides the bread
We'll share the shelter of my single bed

Taken from Vagalume

Always open to constructive criticism, thank you for listening :) Uploaded using 3Speak Mobile App


ā–¶ļø 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments