Indifference,Overlooking the vital things


Unsplash
The image was edited by me.

Advice is what most of us have given before and taking advice is not new to every human being because there are times we feel like we are doing the right thing and seek advice from people who have a better understanding than us.

In my family, we love looking after each other because we believe that two heads are better than one so giving each other advice is what we do most but it is now left for you to take it or leave it.

Some years back my elder sister brought a young man home as her fiancee, we couldn't say anything in the guy's present and everyone acted cool with him

When she got back inside after seeing him off, my mother bluntly disagree with the relationship because she hadn't seen him before as a boyfriend to her child and now he is her fiancee, how is that even possible? My mother asked. Everyone said what they felt about the guy and I didn't say a word because I have something else in mind.


Some hours later I went into my elder sister's room and asked how long has she known the guy and she replied, "Six months". I told her that I might be younger but she should get to know him well at least for a year before she assume that they will get married. She replied to me, "ok".

A month after my sister got impregnated by this same guy and I was the first person to know. I felt so bad for her because she doesn't know much about this person she wants to spend the rest of her life with but I was young and I don't know what emotions and feelings mean but I just don't like seeing my elder sister sad.

She approached our mother and told her she was getting married and my mom asked, "To who" She replied, "My fiancee" My mom stood and was about to walk out when my sister break the news, "am pregnant" my mom turn back and asked, "what did you just say?".Automatically, my mom's hands were tied on the matter.

The wedding was planned and on that wedding day I asked my sister again, "Are you sure about this marriage?" She replied, "Dara I love him and that's all that matters". I replied to her, "But you don't have to marry him because of the pregnancy" and she didn't bother to answer me again because her mind was made up, she just wanted to feel what is called marriage and everything went well on the wedding day.


3 months after she began to see the true color of her darling husband while he has restricted her from going to see her family and friends neither can anyone come to see them, that was all we know as her family. And anytime my mom called her, she will say Mom am fine we are doing just fine.

She keeps covering up for all his wrongdoing for 6 months, I used to be her best sister who she loves sharing her matter with but ever since she got married everything stopped and I thought that was the best thing for someone in a marriage.

I finish secondary school and I was eager to go to her house for some days but my mom didn't stop me. I called her that I will be coming and she sent the address. I got there and couldn't close my mouth when I saw my beautiful sister.

She was looking so tiny, ugly and she was pregnant I quickly asked, "What happened?" She couldn't hide anything because at that moment she needed someone to talk to so she started narrating how her husband has been maltreating her ever since they got married all because of the money he spent on their wedding day.


I was feeling so mad at my sister but I don't want to blame her so I acted unconcerned about all that she said then replied to her, "it is well, but I warned you and what did you tell me? Dara you can't understand, Dara we love each other and that's all that matters, can that love solve this problem now? So deal with it since you love him" I could see through her, she was feeling so bad and her emotions were so shattered.

I couldn't stay as planned so I decided to leave and when I was going she said, "Please help me to tell Mom I need where to stay I can't breathe in here" Tears nearly roll down my cheek but I control my emotion and feelings.

When I got home I told my mom what I saw there as a mother she couldn't stand the fact that her daughter is suffering then she put a call through to someone that has a car, and we went there to take her back home.

The funniest part is that her so-called husband never come looking for her as if he was expecting her to leave anytime soon and that was how she became a single mother and she started all over again by looking for work after she gave birth. And now she's doing just fine with her child

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency