Three Challenges - I can't stop eating my favourite food

It's been a while since we've organised a Three Challenges. This time we're gonna with everyone's favourite - food!! Who doesn't love food! Tell us which are you three favourite food, something that you can't stop eating or so good that you need to share with everybody on Hive.

Let me go first.....πŸ˜‹

Krispy Kreme Donuts

Yeah, I know donuts aren't healthy, but I've never been a healthy eater, and it's not like I eat them all the time. I like Krispy Kreme donuts because they're a little chewy, not too chewy, and the dough isn't too dry or too greasy. The texture is just right, exactly how I like it. But, I only like the original glazed donuts, simplicity at its best. The others with all the bells and whistles topping just take away the simplicity of a perfect donut.

Many years ago Krispy Kreme opened up a new store near me, and I'd drop by every couple of weeks to get a dozen. I can eat 4 or 5 in one go, just enough to satisfy my craving without feeling guilty or wanting to throw up. Then I'd finish off the rest the next day. If my husband is lucky I might let him eat one, or two if he's very lucky πŸ™ƒ. Now my nearest Krispy Kreme store is about 20 miles away, a little too far to go too often. They also sell them through my local supermarkets but they're a lot more expensive. That's a great excuse to stop me buying them all the time, and only indulge in them when I go to the store. Time for a trip to the store next week, it's been a while.
P_20180813_095838_vHDR_On.jpg

Oysters

I love most seafood, and oyster ranks at the top. Whenever we see fresh oysters at the market, we always order a dozen to share, and normally we end up ordering another half a dozen because they're so good. Oyster is an acquired taste and I know many people get turned off by the strong fishy taste and slimey texture, but I just love it. When people eat oyster, many layer a lot of shallots, dashes of tabasco sauce and a squirt of lemon on it to reduce the fishy taste. What a waste!!! I prefer to go straight to get the full flavour. I let the oyster swivel in my mouth before I chew it a little and gulp it down. And if there's some salty oyster juice left on the shell, as all good quality fresh oysters should have, I tip those few drops down as well to round everything off. OMG!! I can taste the oyster just writing about it!

Oyster is said to have aphrodisiac properties. Of course, my love for oysters has got nothing to do with this, but if you want to spice up your love life you should give this a try πŸ˜‰
20240328_133525.jpg

Japanese food

Last and not least - Japanese cuisine. Japanese food is so varied, dishes like sushi and ramen are probably the most well known to people, and many from outside of Japan may have had it before. Some of my favorite Japanese food are sashimi (raw pieces of seafood), tempura (prawns or vegetables fried in batter), wagyu beef (yummy), shabu shabu (hot pot), zaru soba (cold buckwheat noodles with a dipping sauce), just to name some of them. There are loads more.

20220723_191205.jpg


The thing with Japanese food is that even if you go to a normal restaurant or even a small mom and pop place, the chances of getting carefully prepared delicious food is very high.
20170408_213242.jpg
And if you order a set meal, in addition to the main, there's always going to be a soup, and selection of side dishes that looks too beautiful to eat. To me, eating Japanese food is a complete experience, from the service, the plating, the texture, the colour, the aroma, and of course the food itself. So far not one meal has disappointed me yet.
P_20170607_121240_vHDR_Auto.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

I love my food so much, that's it's actually been quite difficult to nail it down to three items so I cheated a little with my third one. Now I've shared mine, what about yours? Tell us what is your three favorite food and why. Don't forget to use your own photos, if it's that good, hopefully you will have loads of photos of it.

We also have other challenges open in the Three Challenges community, check them out in the links below. And if you take up the challenge, remember to post in the Three Challenges community

My Three Favourite posts challenge
My Three most valuable possessions
The three most .... streets
Fight procrastination and accomplish three tasks

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center