This could be a real challenge - fight procrastination and accomplish three tasks!

Maybe I am wrong, so it is a huge challenge just for me... to resist procrastination...?

...or?

Do you suffer the same disease, procrastination? You know, when you have a few tasks to do but start with the easiest one, even if it is unimportant, and actually leave apart those that should have priority. For a student? He/she will do anything just to avoid studying a difficult subject. Have a week to prepare for an exam? - of course, he/she will start the real study time one day before the test. The list of our tasks looks nice on paper... and then we pick any of them that will give us some pleasure instead of starting with the most annoying one and finishing it as soon as possible.

How many times have I heard from my students the phrase "I like to play at home the compositions that are easy and those I like, not the ones that I need to practice for hours" ? That is a kind of procrastination too. I see my son cleaning his room exactly on the day when he should study. I see myself thinking about repotting some plants but it never happens. Or organizing the closets, cleaning the kitchen, the storage room etc. Decluttering the drawers, throwing away unnecessary things, cleaning the window shutters or organizing my music scores. I could keep on naming all these bad stuff for the next two paragraphs. Maybe three. The point is that I should face them and not just talk about them.

Here is the opportunity to have the work done - let's make a challenge to face this awful habit!
What do you say? Would you like to participate in this activity? I will set myself three tasks that I have been avoiding for some time and try to do them today (two of them I have finished since the idea came to my mind 😉 )

1. Repotting this plant

IMG_20240622_145813.jpg

A few weeks ago I wrote about my Lucky Bells plants...they were badly attacked by mealybugs, so I cut them down and threw them away. Two young plants were fine so I left them in and also planted lots of little babies with the leaves. They are growing very well, but unfortunately, I also saw mealybugs on the two aforementioned young plants. I took them out of the pot to check the roots and change the soil, but I didn't have time to plant them in a new pot. They were lying horizontally on the table.

Guess what happened! The tips of the stems started to grow vertically, so I got some very twisted plants. Then I placed them in a pot, still without soil, and the stems continued to grow, reaching for the sky again. This is the result of my wonderful procrastination! Crooked stems... at least they got soil and a new pot, so they can grow the right way from here.

2. Decluttering this mess

IMG_20240622_142137.jpg

This was awful! I had to organize the stuff in this hanging cabinet a long time ago, but the procrastination thing was stronger than me.

You can see, that it was a pure mess... imagine the upper part too in a similar condition but I took out everything from there before I decided to take the photo. (lucky you, you would suffer a heart attack... this is also enough to see 😁)

IMG_20240622_151427.jpg

I think it is a bit better now, at least the part I organized. I wanted to start writing this post (ow, a nice procrastination from the real work 🤣) but will continue with the upper part soon.

3. Finding lost music scores

IMG_20240622_145710.jpg

Here, in this external HDD, I have a treasure. It is like a chest full of photos and music scores among other files, but the thing is that it contains data from three old laptops.

When you start browsing there, a few hours can be easily lost... or more. But I have to find one music piece, as if not - I can be hung by someone who lent me the scores in their physical form. Well, I gave that paper to one of my students who went back to her country so the scores are gone forever. I procrastinated with this thing already for a while but I know that I am already in trouble if I don't find and print out the composition to be able to give them back! So, wish me luck, please! 😂

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

If you recognise yourself in this habit and you would like to change something, let's start with small steps. Set yourself three tasks you would like to accomplish and participate actively in this challenge. You can share with us the three tasks you have done for this challenge!

If you never procrastinate - that is fantastic! Well done.

Still, if you would like to procrastine from your real-life tasks participate in a different challenge, you can pick from some of the other ongoing ones in this community: Three favourite posts, Three most valuable possessions, The three most ... streets...

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center