Sweet Potato Stew🍲

For the record, I don't like sweet potatoes. I don't like their flavor, not baked or fries or anything. They fall in the squash class for me which is like a vegetable that failed at being a yummy fruit. That being said, this stew is fukn awesome!

My little Dragon Princess (@lunamoon) wanted to make a stew. She knows that the main ingredient is veggies. Well, for her it is. She has made a few in the microwave and I've been a taste tester for a good 6 months now.

This one, I let her use the stove top. I explained a slow cook allows the water (or whatever base liquid) to permeate the vegetables and make them softer. The longer the better as the seasonings will also bleed into them while at the same time, their flavor will spread to each other and form the broth.

She cut up half a sweet potato, two carrots and one Roma tomato and threw them into 4 cups (guesstimate - it wasn't actually measured) of water. Then a half teaspoon (all also guesstimates) of chicken bouillon, a pinch of parsley, TSP of onion powder, TSP of salt, a half TSP of garlic powder and a dash of black pepper. Once that started to simmer, we added some (already been cooked) venison burger.

This is all her design minus the bouillon. I suggested that to add more flavor. At 1 p.m., we started cooking this. It is now shortly after 6 p.m. and I have already devoured a good size bowl. Frign delish! Her intent was to make it for her older brother to take to work. Such a sweetie, had to brag on her. Consider this another promo for @wesphilbin's April Fool's Foodie Challenge. Not sure her brother gonna get any, I'm getting another bowl.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now