The Whole30 Diet

So, I am trying a new diet that is supposed to "reset" your gut. It is not easy, and all I want to eat is gooey chocolate cake.

This was my first meal, a bed of spinach and two small steaks with eggs on top, fried in coconut oil.
received_10211750507051527.jpeg

This is my lunch today, a little fruit heavy, but oh well - Tomatoes, blueberries, banana, apple, coffee.
DSC_0364.JPG

Things I can't eat-
Grains, not even oatmeal
Legumes, that means any kind of beans,
Dairy
Peanuts
Preservatives
Alcohol, I don't drink anyway
Sugar or sugar substitutes including honey, stevia, maple syrup, none...
Carrageenan, MSG, and Sulfites

Nor can I have anything that resembles the kind of food I crave, like trying to recreate pasta or pizza or, gooey chocolate cake- the diet refers to this as "SWYPO" or Sex With Your Pants On. The point is to eliminate the craving for the food one is used to grabbing up on the go, or to comfort and satisfy the absurd appetite that comes from the brain, not the gut.

What I miss most is the mouth feel of bread, cheesy bread, or slurpy noodles, melty chocolate and. . . . STOP!
ahhhhh.jpg
I can't try to recreate these things. But at least I can still have black coffee!!!

Last night I tried shark steaks, they were disgusting, smelled like ammonia, and were impossible to chew. I did polish off an impressive amount of baby kale, arugula, mashed sweet potatoes, and bananas with almond butter for dessert.

After 30 days, I can begin to reintroduce things into my diet one by one to see how they affect my digestion and energy levels. I'm looking forward to that, but am really enjoying my calm gut today.

Love from the blooms of gut flora,
Tommy
DSC_0337.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center